PDA

View Full Version : Why does having having repositories enabled use up rootfs space?

zail
2010-03-07, 22:10
I've read on various posts that one way to free up rootfs space is to disable extras-testing and extras-dev... I've done this and it works but as a newbie to maemo (and although I've dabbled in linux I'm by no means an expert!) I don't understand why. So if anyone could answer the following questions to further my understanding I would be very grateful!

1/ do all repos consume rootfs space or is it just extras-testing and extras-dev?

2/ Is disabling sufficent or do I need to delete them altogether?

3/ what do they do that uses space on rootfs?

v13
2010-03-07, 22:19
I've read on various posts that one way to free up rootfs space is to disable extras-testing and extras-dev... I've done this and it works but as a newbie to maemo (and although I've dabbled in linux I'm by no means an expert!) I don't understand why. So if anyone could answer the following questions to further my understanding I would be very grateful!

1/ do all repos consume rootfs space or is it just extras-testing and extras-dev?

2/ Is disabling sufficent or do I need to delete them altogether?

3/ what do they do that uses space on rootfs?

The application manager uses apt which stores the list of software from repositories under /var/lib/apt/lists. Extras-testing consume about 5.3MB and extras-devel should be much more.

b666m
2010-03-07, 22:19
start here:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Repository

i'll try to keep it short and simple:
1. yes, all of them.
2. disabling (and afterwards (automatically) updating) is sufficient enough.
3. they're downloading lists to keep track of the current available packages and versions. the more packages the repository contains the more rootfs memory is needed when it's activated.

daemonfin
2010-03-07, 22:26
Mmm... what happens when there is 10 000 applications?

StOoZ
2010-03-07, 22:28
start here:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Repository