PDA

View Full Version : Developing an internet application.

Krumpir
2010-06-02, 00:26
Hello, im trying to develop an app for maemo 5 that will check some web pages for updates at regular intervals and alert the users in case it is needed. For this purpose i've downloaded the karmic desktop virtual image.

I am new to this and i don't quite know how to access the internet on maemo. The first thing i found while researching the subject was the libconic api which can be used to acquire a connection to the internet.

When i include <conic/conic.h> into my project it wont compile saying it cant find Conicevent.h and several other header files referenced from conic.h i have verified that the files exist on disk so i must be missing an include folders or library folders entry somewhere but i cant figure out where to put it (perhaps somewhere in makefile.am but as i sad im a newb ;)).

Furthermore i would like to ask for some pointers on how it would be best to download a web page (would the standard unix system calls like socket, gethostbyname , connect etc. work? i understand there is also a library named curl which i could use).

Finally i'm interested in testing the application. When running example apps in the Xephyr window i've noticed there are also some internet applications in there (youtube, facebook ...) and they dont seem to be connected (are these only simulations of real apps?). The question is once i do get the code right will i be able to actually get data from the internet and display it in a UI inside Xephyr to see if my app is working (all inside the VM).

I apologize in advance if im asking the obvious and thank you for your patience if you're still reading :)

nicola.mfb
2010-06-02, 01:19
A good way may be to use Qt and qt-mobility framework.
With the bearer api you may request a connection, with other Qt classes you can download webpages without taking care of all the mentioned low-level stuff.