PDA

View Full Version : Couple basic questions for N800.

MJBarnes
2007-04-07, 23:14
Using the N800, here are a couple questions...

#1. What Video formats are directly supported (AVI, MPG, etc...). For formats NOT supported, is there a recommended converter?

#2. What programs can be used to simply view (edit would be a plus) word and Excel documents?

#3. Anyway to Listen to Audible.com books on this device? They seem to support Nokia devices, but they do not have this one listed.

#4. I have been trying to simply fund the URLs for some streaming music and am unable to do so. Can someone point me to a basic place just to get the URLs I can enter?

Thanks much for the assistance... I am very new to this device and using this device has been very different from all my other experiences.

geneven
2007-04-07, 23:51
You can use Orb to listen to Audible books. You install Orb on your Windows computer, and run it from your N800 with it also loaded on the Windows computer.

Audible is a sponsor of Orb, which is a good thing for us Audible listeners! There is no way to listen to Audible audiobooks otherwise that I know of, unfortunately.

It works very easily and well once you get it set up.

enrevanche
2007-04-08, 00:32
#2. What programs can be used to simply view (edit would be a plus) word and Excel documents?

I would really like to know what solutions people have found for this, too...

Have had the N800 for about a week now and mostly love it. Was planning to use Google Docs or Zoho for basic productivity apps, but the browser won't support them. How are peoplel dealing with this issue?

- Barry

Adam_n800
2007-04-08, 00:48
point your browser to www.shoutcast.com if you want to listen to online radio

luketoh
2007-04-08, 04:09
minimo browser works for google docs, spreadsheet and calendar i believe. do a search for minimo.

artkavanagh
2007-04-08, 08:15