PDA

View Full Version : Dying old DeLL, should I go Nokia800 ???

heavymetal
2007-06-26, 22:31
Yo,

My 8 year old DeLL laptop PC, with MicroSoftXp, is dying.

Thank god for that!

But...this means I need to buy a new computer. Or do I ?

I work as a research scientist and just came back from a conference where I met a guy with a Nokia800. Also had a BlueTooth folding keyboard, and because the conference rooms where all Wireless Internet... WOW!

After getting a Nokia 101 lesson from this dude, I starting to think that I don't really need I computer, all I need it this Internet Tablet.

Now, I've never worked with Linux before, although I do love to learn about computers and programming. I do want to convert from MicroSoft to Linux, and have all the fancy computer tech at work, so I don't need it at home anymore.

I'm thinking in terms of saving costs; Nokia800 and BT keyboard combo is LESS than a new PC. And... I figure that Linux $ Bluetooth tech should be useful in the future (meaning the Tablet Applications should get better and better in time).

So... my question is:

Should I replace my old dying Dell computer by I NOKIA800?

tché
Heavy

earl00
2007-06-26, 23:02
no pda/internet tablet/umpc can replace a full blown laptop/desktop, they may come close but they won't last very long as far as future proof. Laptop/desktop you can still upgrade slightly. I'd say fork out $300 extra and buy a dell like this for $699. AMD Turion X2 Dual-core Processor, Windows VistaTM or Windows® XP, 1GB Memory, 80GB Hard Drive, CD Burner/DVD Reader Combo Drive.etc.

http://www.dell.com/content/default.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=bsd&cs=04#426862262246239513

Then buy a Nokia N800 if you still need a internet tablet.

geneven
2007-06-27, 00:26
I say buy the N800. I love my old Dell, but I rarely use it now. I use my desktop or my N800.

huck
2007-06-27, 02:20
N800...
if all you gotta do is write up some text...
chat a bit and send/receive e-mails...this is the ticket...