PDA

View Full Version : New to Linux- Book recommendation?

Mattmilw
2007-06-28, 13:45
I am anxiously awaiting my Wooted Nokia 770. I've read a lot of posts about all the great apps available and how versatile it is. This is my first Linux device and it's painfully obvious that I've got a lot to learn. I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a good starter book for me. I'm fairly well versed in Windows, but an absolute beginner here.

I appreciate it and look forward to digging in and enjoying the 770.

Thanks,
Matt

benny1967
2007-06-28, 14:33
My impression is that the more end-user ready books are very specialized on one or two distributions - desktop distributions of course. Because there is no such thing as "Linux" but only a collection of applications and system utilities usually thrown together (one of whcih happens to be the Linux kernel), distributions like Ubuntu, Suse or (for the 770/N800) Maemo differ quite a bit and you will probably not be able to try out many of the things described in an Ubuntu-centric book on your Nokia Internet Tablet.

I would recommend the Web instead of a book; there are a lot of resources that focus on Maemo, Nokias platform for the 770/N800, and there's always people to ask who will point you to further reading.

If you really want a book, you should go for the type that say "Unix and Linux" on the cover and describe the very, very basics that all Unix-like systems have in common, such as the file system structure, users, file modes, basic commands like copy/move/list directory etc. - These books aren't fun to read (most of them are boring) and its maybe tiresome to try what works on a 770 and what doesn't; you might want to get a Linux Live CD so you can experiment on your PC using a full keyboard, a mouse and a bigger screen.