PDA

View Full Version : Help! Infinite reboot fixable or not?

risensun
2007-07-23, 04:29
Hi there. Please be gentle as I'm a relative newbie. I've searched and didn't see a similar problem to mine. I'm wondering if this is fixable or if I should hurry and return the unit!

My 1 week old 770 has decided to enter an infinite reboot while I was attempting to download a new application (mozilla's latest browser).

I had the latest version of OS as of today.

While booting, the blue bar begins scrolling to indicate progress. It gets somewhere between 1/2 way to all the way and then BAM. White screen of death and up pops the Nokia logo again. This happens over and over again for about 10 minutes until the device shuts itself down.

I've already tried reflashing twice. If that doesn't work, I have no idea what else i could try to restore original settings. Any ideas???

A BIG thank you ahead of time.

SeRi@lDiE
2007-07-23, 04:46
My 1 week old 770 has decided to enter an infinite reboot while I was attempting to download a new application (mozilla's latest browser).

Well thats your problem right there..... and I am sure it couldnt be any more clear in the maemo site but the latest mozilla browser is only and again I repeat ONLY for the latest OS2007 firmware which only runs in the N800..... Unles you had dual boot up setup your only choice is reflash... With dual boot you have a chance at mounting the primary rom and take out the offending packege... Also thats not a WSOD is just a reboot loop caused by watchdog...

risensun
2007-07-23, 05:18
"Unles you had dual boot up setup your only choice is reflash... "

Thanks for your reply SeRi. Two things:

I don't think the Mozilla ever even installed. The App Manager came up and probably just a few seconds later (about the time that it should have been downloading it), it rebooted itself. I may have shot myself in the foot on this one.