PDA

View Full Version : Maru OS

Bundyo
2016-02-05, 12:49
Which I didn't yet run to check, but possibly is a Debian chroot over HDMI display on Android:

http://maruos.com/

javispedro
2016-02-05, 15:51
Hmpf. So.. now that I've abandoned the idea myself, everyone is starting to jump on the "mobile computing" bandwagon.

Curse you, world!

gerbick
2016-02-05, 16:56
This... makes me damn mad I donated my Nexus 5. Interesting project indeed...

endsormeans
2016-02-05, 17:21
Abso-smurf-ly brilliant.
Now that ain't a bad idea at all...
Pretty darn good one in fact...
Gonna have to looky loo some more into maru..

paolo_3_1415926
2016-02-05, 18:00
This is super cool. I will need to understand a bit better what is the state of the beta (is it really usable?), but as soon as this reaches some sort of stabiity and can be used as a daily driver, I am in.

javispedro
2016-02-05, 18:15
Note that this is basically just yet another Debian chroot, and a currently closed source one for what is worth..

Quite happy to see interest pouring back into this, but really unhappy about a single company capitalizing on it...

endsormeans
2016-02-05, 18:24
Ah...closed is it?
there is the rub.

If they did it..
I'm sure others will and make sure it is (available on more than just the nexus 5 and...) open on top of that.

paolo_3_1415926
2016-02-05, 18:28
Note that this is basically just yet another Debian chroot, and a currently closed source one for what is worth..

Quite happy to see interest pouring back into this, but really unhappy about a single company capitalizing on it...

Fair enough. Closedness is indeed a problem (how do you know it is not going to be open source? could not see anything in the minimal site they put up), and another concern is the decision of building on top of lollipop.