Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 21 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#151
well, then do this
ls -l ubuntu-11.10-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img

if you get 'No such file or directory', then decompress it first


And the command sudo fdisk -l -u is informative, that should give something similar to
sudo fdisk -l -u meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw

meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw1 1 3583999 1791999+ 83 Linux
Partition 1 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(27999, 3, 32)
meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw2 3584000 3600383 8192 82 Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 2 has different physical/logical beginnings (non-Linux?):
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28000, 0, 1)
Partition 2 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28127, 3, 32)
meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw3 3600384 3665919 32768 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
Partition 3 has different physical/logical beginnings (non-Linux?):
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28128, 0, 1)
Partition 3 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28639, 3, 32)

If you have such an info, then you 1)shure that it is what you need, that the image is decompressed and has valid partition table 2) can correct, if necessary, offset for mounted partition and check the file system type (it the offset is correct - you multiply sectors by 512, some tutorials claim, that it works when the number of sectors taken 1 less than in the output of fdisk, one can try probing 'close numbers of sectors' (but multiplied by the same 512) - then, having loaded modules for that fs, it should be mountable with that same 'mount')

(the exaple up I give is not probably the best, as contains some errors or 'inconsistencies', still that MeeGo was installable; but it gives the partition table info, that is what you need to know from your image in order to mount then it with correct parameters. I guess that in your case offset is correct but by some reason your quite up to date host OS does not understand fs of the image - maybe indeed, the file does not exist )

Last edited by Aravinda; 2011-11-12 at 19:04.
 
Posts: 72 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Hungary
#152
Originally Posted by Aravinda View Post
well, then do this
ls -l ubuntu-11.10-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img

if you get 'No such file or directory', then decompress it first


And the command sudo fdisk -l -u is informative, that should give something similar to
sudo fdisk -l -u meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw

meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw1 1 3583999 1791999+ 83 Linux
Partition 1 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(27999, 3, 32)
meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw2 3584000 3600383 8192 82 Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 2 has different physical/logical beginnings (non-Linux?):
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28000, 0, 1)
Partition 2 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28127, 3, 32)
meego-core-armv7hl-n900-1.2.90.0.0.20110824.2-mmcblk0p.raw3 3600384 3665919 32768 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
Partition 3 has different physical/logical beginnings (non-Linux?):
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28128, 0, 1)
Partition 3 has different physical/logical endings:
phys=(1023, 3, 32) logical=(28639, 3, 32)

If you have such an info, then you 1)shure that it is what you need, that the image is decompressed and has valid partition table 2) can correct, if necessary, offset for mounted partition and check the file system type (it the offset is correct - you multiply sectors by 512, some tutorials claim, that it works when the number of sectors taken 1 less than in the output of fdisk, one can try probing 'close numbers of sectors' (but multiplied by the same 512) - then, having loaded modules for that fs, it should be mountable with that same 'mount')

(the exaple up I give is not probably the best, as contains some errors or 'inconsistencies', still that MeeGo was installable; but it gives the partition table info, that is what you need to know from your image in order to mount then it with correct parameters. I guess that in your case offset is correct but by some reason your quite up to date host OS does not understand fs of the image - maybe indeed, the file does not exist )
Thanks a lot, but I think I will install Kubuntu 11.10 with the older script as I was able to permform that once. I installed today Ubunu 11.04 on class 10 8gb sd card, but it was much much slower than Kubuntu 11.10 on the same sd card. I don't recommend installing ubuntu on the N900 as it is less opmised, however I don't know what can Ubuntu 11.10 offer other than 11.04.
 
int_ua's Avatar
Posts: 676 | Thanked: 1,067 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#153
Oh, so much discussion... Will read it but now I have to say that I'm rewriting the script right now using dialog features. It seems that all the newest images have multiple partitions and thus the 111101 script is outdated.
But I just checked images with
Code:
zcat precise-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img.gz | head -c512 > head; file head
and it may be wrong.
I want to end testing this night with all images. So I suppose you to wait a little

Last edited by int_ua; 2011-11-12 at 20:21.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to int_ua For This Useful Post:
Posts: 21 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#154
There is no much sense in installing ubuntu on n900 in sense of everyday use. For that Maemo is the only now. One can use it with Android with less possibilities (and maybe with some android's advantages in its programs)
But ubuntu may give some special features, which may be needed once or twice in all times. Maybe when all the drivers will be accomplished and controls adjusted, we will have one more choice or even better with some native linux features.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Aravinda For This Useful Post:
Posts: 72 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Hungary
#155
Originally Posted by int_ua View Post
Oh, so much discussion... Will read it but now I have to say that I'm rewriting the script right now using dialog features. It seems that all the newest images have multiple partitions and thus the 111101 script is outdated.
But I just checked images with
Code:
zcat precise-preinstalled-desktop-armel+omap.img.gz | head -c512 > head; file head
and it may be wrong.
I want to end testing this night with all images. So I suppose you to wait a little
I can't wait to test out the new script, because now I don't have kubuntu/ubuntu on my n900 but I' m really missing to mess out with the new OS.

Thanks a lot!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to PanzerSajt For This Useful Post:
int_ua's Avatar
Posts: 676 | Thanked: 1,067 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#156
Originally Posted by kralde View Post
Any hints for install kubuntu mobile on eMMC? =) thanks a lot
Did you check https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ARM/n900#Hardware_support ?
It will not charge the battery yet.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to int_ua For This Useful Post:
int_ua's Avatar
Posts: 676 | Thanked: 1,067 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#157
While I'm rewriting it I have an appeal:
Please compare /etc/apt/sources.list on the following images (these are the ones that I want to include):
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-cor...e-armel.tar.gz
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/releases/1...el+omap.img.gz
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/re...el+omap.img.gz
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/daily-prei...el+omap.img.gz
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/kubuntu-mo...el+omap.img.gz

Ok, PanzerSajt I will publish an untested version there:
https://code.launchpad.net/~xintx-ua...n900-installer
I need something about an hour.
 
Posts: 72 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Hungary
#158
Originally Posted by int_ua View Post
Did you check https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ARM/n900#Hardware_support ?
It will not charge the battery yet.
Yes I had checked it. We have to work a lot to make it useable on the N900. The most imprtant (in my point of view) to get working:
1. Battery/power management
2. Gpu
3. APN

After these fixes the system will be a lot more useable.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PanzerSajt For This Useful Post:
int_ua's Avatar
Posts: 676 | Thanked: 1,067 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#159
Here it is:
http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~xintx-u...nstaller/files
You can get it with
Code:
bzr branch --use-existing-dir http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~xintx-ua/ubuntu-n900/ubuntu-n900-installer

Last edited by int_ua; 2011-11-13 at 09:28.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to int_ua For This Useful Post:
int_ua's Avatar
Posts: 676 | Thanked: 1,067 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Kyiv, Ukraine
#160
Ok, confirming Core and Ubuntu Desktop as working with revision 6.
And going to sleep.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to int_ua For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:16.