Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#91
have mounted tc volume succesfully. Can then access all files in tc vol with xterm. but the file browser just grey the mounted folder no matter where i mount the tc. any advice much appreciated
 
Posts: 452 | Thanked: 522 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#92
Originally Posted by gnasgame3 View Post
have mounted tc volume succesfully. Can then access all files in tc vol with xterm. but the file browser just grey the mounted folder no matter where i mount the tc. any advice much appreciated
Have you tried mounting it inside /media?

Nathan
 
Posts: 341 | Thanked: 64 times | Joined on May 2009
#93
thank you Nathan, i have been using TC daily since v3 and find it indispensable, so being able to use it on my n900 is a marvelous.

anyone have any idea how long before it will show up in Extras (or whatever the default maemo5 repo is called)?
 
Posts: 692 | Thanked: 264 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#94
A few things to check oweng:

1. Make sure it's in /home/user. You can't execute anything from /home/user/MyDocs due to permissions issues.
2. Check the filename: did you save it as "cifsmount.txt" by any chance?
3. Make sure you're in the right directory. Before trying to chmod the file or execute the script, run "ls -l" and make sure you see cifsmount.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to GameboyRMH For This Useful Post:
oweng's Avatar
Posts: 210 | Thanked: 178 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#95
yes it is .txt what should it be?
thanks for your assistance.
 
Posts: 40 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Mar 2008
#96
Originally Posted by GameboyRMH View Post
Just one correction to on top of Cue's modifications:

Code:
#! /bin/sh
#arguments: servername serverip share username password mountpoint
#username, password and mountpoint are optional arguments
if [ $# -lt 3 ] ; then
    #Go into "wizard mode" if there are no arguments
    echo -e "Not enough arguments passed - running wizard"
    echo -e "Enter the server name:"
    read servername
    echo -e "Enter the server IP"
    read serverip
    echo -e "Enter the share name or path"
    read sharename
    echo -e "Enter a username, or leave blank for anonymous"
    read username
    username_orig=$username
    if [ "${username}" != "" ]; then
        echo -e "Enter a password"
        read password
    fi
    echo -e "Enter a mount point, or leave blank for automatic"
    read mountpoint
fi
#if arguments were passed from the command line, use them:
if [ $# -gt 2 ]; then
    servername=$1
    serverip=$2
    sharename=$3
    username=$4
    username_orig=$username
    password=$5
    mountpoint=$6
fi
#set default mountpoint if the user didn't enter one
if [ "${mountpoint}" = "" ]; then
    mountpoint="/media/Remote_Filesystems/$servername@$sharename"
    #make sure the Remote_Filesystems directory exists
    mountparentdir="/media/Remote_Filesystems"
    if [ -d $mountparentdir ]; then
        echo -e "$mountparentdir found."
    else 
        echo -e "Creating $mountparentdir"
        mkdir $mountparentdir
    fi
fi
#requote variables to escape special characters
servername=$(printf '%q' "$servername")
serverip=$(printf '%q' "$serverip")
sharename=$(printf '%q' "$sharename")
username=$(printf '%q' "$username")
password=$(printf '%q' "$password")
mountpoint=$(printf '%q' "$mountpoint")
#check for mountpoint and create it if it doesn't exist
if [ -d $mountpoint ]; then
    echo -e "Mount point already exists - will attempt to use."
else 
    echo -e "Creating mountpoint $mountpoint"
    mkdir $mountpoint
fi 
echo -e "Attempting to mount //$servername/$sharename at $mountpoint"
#Run the mount command
if [ "${username_orig}" != "" ]; then
    mount -t cifs //$servername/$sharename $mountpoint -o user=$username pass=$password ip=$serverip
else
    mount -t cifs //$servername/$sharename $mountpoint -o ip=$serverip
fi
#chown mountpoint to user
chown -R user $mountpoint
echo -e "To unmount this share, run umount $mountpoint as root"
There are problems with this script: it doesn not work in wizard or non-wizard mode.
It seems it can't get user input: for instance, it prints "Attempting to mount /// at ", as if I input an empty string (I obviously typed the correct values. In addition, it actually doesn't create the mountpoint folder: it always return (folder_name) found, even if it doesn't exsist.

You should check whether variables are correctly used and what's theyr actual value.
 
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#97
hi nathan thanks for the quick response.
The file explorer does not navigate out of /home/user/Mydocs
so if tc vol is mounted on /media , i can only access my files in tc using xterm.

btw what is the command for launching the default media player
because mplayer can play the files in the mounted vol in xterm
and i dont want to keep mplayer. (waiting for optified version)

any help appreciated
 
casper27's Avatar
Posts: 844 | Thanked: 521 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ UK southampton
#98
Originally Posted by oweng View Post
yes it is .txt what should it be?
thanks for your assistance.
it should be .sh i think.
 
Posts: 452 | Thanked: 522 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#99
Originally Posted by REMFwhoopitydo View Post
thank you Nathan, i have been using TC daily since v3 and find it indispensable, so being able to use it on my n900 is a marvelous.

anyone have any idea how long before it will show up in Extras (or whatever the default maemo5 repo is called)?
Should show up in Extras-Devel / Extra-Testing today. ;-)
I've finished creating the package / debian stuff so that it can build it. Just doing final tests. ;-)

Nathan.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nathan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 452 | Thanked: 522 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#100
Originally Posted by gnasgame3 View Post
hi nathan thanks for the quick response.
The file explorer does not navigate out of /home/user/Mydocs
so if tc vol is mounted on /media , i can only access my files in tc using xterm.
Actually this is untrue; the built in File Manager will navigate to anything inside the /media folder. ;-)

It is considered the "root" folder. So if you use the up arrow, the final location will be listing what is in the /media folder. (Hence the reason why the cifsmount script, and wizard mounter uses it as the base location to mount file shares)

Nathan
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nathan For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
cifs, ntfs, samba, smb, truecrypt


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36.