Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#1
Hello.


I instaled the maemo SDK in ubuntu 9.10.

I tried some simple app's and to execute the app's i used the emulator.

Everything was ok. I used the folowing instructions:

To compile: gcc app-example.c `pkg-config hildon-1 --cflags --libs` -o app-example

To execute: run-standalone.sh ./app-example


I would like to know how can i execute an application on my n900 without using the garage.

What i have to do?

Do i compile the app in a different way?

Do i have to copy the app to a special folder?

How can i execute the app?

Sorry if this is too much easy but i search a lot and i didn't found an answer.


Thanks
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#2
Originally Posted by bluedragon View Post
Hello.


I instaled the maemo SDK in ubuntu 9.10.

I tried some simple app's and to execute the app's i used the emulator.

Everything was ok. I used the folowing instructions:

To compile: gcc app-example.c `pkg-config hildon-1 --cflags --libs` -o app-example

To execute: run-standalone.sh ./app-example


I would like to know how can i execute an application on my n900 without using the garage.

What i have to do?

Do i compile the app in a different way?

Do i have to copy the app to a special folder?

How can i execute the app?

Sorry if this is too much easy but i search a lot and i didn't found an answer.


Thanks
If you've compiled it for ARMEL in the SDK, you can just copy it over to the N900. Then, in X Terminal, change to the directory you copied it and run "./app-example". You may need to install extra libraries though ("ldd app-example" will show you the libraries the app is linked against and any missing ones).
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#3
Thanks for the answer.


The last time i used c++ and linux was 15 years ago.

So, sorry but i still need help because i'm newbie on those things.

To compile i've done "gcc app-example.c `pkg-config hildon-1 --cflags --libs` -o app-example".

When i do "./app-example" gives me "/bin/sh: ./app-example: Permission denied".

When i do "ldd app-example" gives me "ldd: Warning: you do not have execution permission for `./app-exampleŽ not a dynamic executable".

In the xterminal i was in root mode with gainroot.

I search for help to compile the app for ARMEL and only found references to ARMEL.

what's wrong with "gcc app-example.c `pkg-config hildon-1 --cflags --libs` -o app-example"?

Do i need to build an install package? If yes, how?

Best regards,
 
sampppa's Avatar
Posts: 166 | Thanked: 191 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Oulu, Finland
#4
So you are trying to run this executable in the device? If so, you can not execute applications under FAT partition. I assume you have your application binary under MyDocs ?

Try moving it to under /opt/ and try executing it there by ./app-example

Last edited by sampppa; 2010-02-03 at 09:32.
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#5
I tried and gives me again "/bin/sh: ./app-example: Permission denied".
 
sampppa's Avatar
Posts: 166 | Thanked: 191 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Oulu, Finland
#6
then try to add +x flag for that file

chmod +x app-example
and try to execute it again ./app-example
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#7
Now the message is:
./app-example: line 1: systax error: "(" unexpected

In ubuntu with the Xephyr works fine.

I supose the compile is simple wrong.
 
Posts: 432 | Thanked: 645 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#8
Originally Posted by bluedragon View Post
Now the message is:
./app-example: line 1: systax error: "(" unexpected
You have to compile it in your ARMEL target, it seems that you have done it in the X86.

daniel
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to danielwilms For This Useful Post:
Posts: 353 | Thanked: 263 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#9
And you can change target with command "sb-conf select FREMANTLE_ARMEL" or "sb-conf select FREMANTLE_X86" in Scratchbox. Note that you have to install needed libraries and all other stuff in both targets separately.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TNiga For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#10
Originally Posted by TNiga View Post
And you can change target with command "sb-conf select FREMANTLE_ARMEL" or "sb-conf select FREMANTLE_X86" in Scratchbox. Note that you have to install needed libraries and all other stuff in both targets separately.
It works now.

Thank you all.

I learn a lot today.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:23.