Closed Thread
Thread Tools
kingoddball's Avatar
Posts: 1,187 | Thanked: 816 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Australia
#141
The correct disk (partition) would be:
mmcblk1p2 (the p2/p3/p4 etc is your partition number).
sfdisk:

First, we need to partition the external sd card, which is represented as device node /dev/mmcblk1 in most cases. In this example, we will have 2 partitions, one partition will be FAT32 for storage, the other LINUX83 for the Android rootfs. Simply run the following i a terminal:

Code:

umount /dev/mmcblk1p1 # unmount the mmc for partitioning

sfdisk -uM /dev/mmcblk1
,512,C # 512mb partition for FAT32
,,L # the rest of the mmc is LINUX83
,, # empty
,,


Next, to prepare the new partitions for Android installation, run the following and then reboot you device; this will format the first partition in vfat, and the second in ext3:

Code:

mkdosfs /dev/mmcblk1p1
mkfs.ext3 /dev/mmcblk1p2

After formatting the partitions and rebooting the device, you can mount the ext3 partition with the following:

Code:

mkdir -p /mnt
mount /dev/mmcblk1p2 /mnt

cd /mnt

That's as far as I can help - This is untested. Should fix you up.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kingoddball For This Useful Post:
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Glasgow, United Kingdom
#142
alrite guys, is it possible to do the job on my MacOS via terminal, I mean the partation and file copy 2 SD? I don't have a linux OS....and if yes, what's the difference about those command lines under macOS?

Cheers
 
kingoddball's Avatar
Posts: 1,187 | Thanked: 816 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Australia
#143
Nope.

You have a mac, good start.
Is it a Core Duo (or single)?
If so, install VMware, download a linux build - Start from there.
That's exactly how I do it
VMware is the greatest!
 
Posts: 131 | Thanked: 78 times | Joined on May 2010
#144
How do we get flash 10.1 working?

I've tried dj_steve's flash player apk (with froyo 004) and also a 10.1 apk I found on the xda site (with the just-updated froyo rootfs). I put them in the /system/app folder (at different times), however, sites keep saying I need to update my flash player.

I have "Adobe Flash Player 10.1" under my package browser. I've tried restarting it (the package) too.

Has anyone gotten it working?
 
Descalzo's Avatar
Posts: 369 | Thanked: 167 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#145
I did it from my Mac, but I booted from my Gparted live cd.

The problem with partitioning with the Mac is that you can't format/read ext3 from within OSX, that I was able to see.
__________________
N900
 
Posts: 88 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Hyderabad, India
#146
How much time does it take to boot android?
i am waiting to boot since 10 mins. it often says "init: untracked pid xxx exited"
can some one confirm if this is going right?
 
Descalzo's Avatar
Posts: 369 | Thanked: 167 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#147
Yeah that's too long.
__________________
N900
 
Posts: 557 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#148
Might post this here as I got no response in the other thread to help:
Having trouble getting this to work.

getbootstate: Invalid selection
Choose bootup option:
2) MMC
9) Start a shell.

I'm guessing the error is up further when I get:
EXT3-fs: Unrecognized mount option "rpsize=1024" or missing value
mount: mounting /dev/mmcblk0p2 on /mnt/new_root failed: Invalid Argument
Command exited with non-zero status 255

I'm pretty sure I partitioned it correctly, followed both the guide on talk and on the nitdroid wiki. I originally tried with eclair and zimage0.0.3, but moved to zimage0.4 and Froyo and still getting same error. I'm certain my android.ext.item file is correct, not only have I rewritten twice, I also copied it straight from the wiki. Finally tried with mmcblk0 instead of {EXT_CARD} to the same effect. Help?

Also of note, further up on bootscreen its showing
mmcblk0: mmc0: (hexi crap) 1.89 GiB
mmcblk0: p1 p2

So the card is recognized and its finding the partition. I'm completely lost as to what Unrecognized mount option error means though.
 
kingoddball's Avatar
Posts: 1,187 | Thanked: 816 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Australia
#149
Should only take a matter of minutes to boot. Well under 5. Mine take 2. Any setup.
 
ToJa92's Avatar
Posts: 1,091 | Thanked: 323 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ ~
#150
@IzzehO: Can you copy paste your android.etc.item here? Sounds like you have something there that should not be there...
 
Closed Thread


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:29.