Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Posts: 48 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#2321
Great job guys! Can't wait till Android is fully functional!
 
somedude's Avatar
Posts: 1,312 | Thanked: 736 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#2322
Originally Posted by dj_steve View Post
new rootfs linked now which has working wifi, thanks to hstende for helping test and fix this

::UPDATE TIME::
This will be added to first post tomorrow also

New RootFS: http://downloads.nitdroid.com/NITDro...-Fixed.tar.bz2 | http://files2.nitdroid.com/NITDroid-...-Fixed.tar.bz2
Kernel Required: 2.6.28.NIT.02(http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/....NIT.02.tar.gz | http://files2.nitdroid.com/zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz)
Kernel Modules Required For Maemo: 2.6.28.NIT.02(http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/....NIT.02.tar.gz | http://files2.nitdroid.com/modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz)
Recommended Additional Items: Beta3 Bootmenu but Jay-C: http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/...2.beta3.tar.gz | http://files2.nitdroid.com/bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz


Their is a small howto below for getting this running as it is not as simple as previous roots due to Google APPs

--CHANGELOG--
Froyo(2.2) Based
Battery Reporting Broken Currently
FULL GOOGLE APPS INCLUDING MARKET THAT CAN DOWNLOAD/INSTALL THINGS
Calibrated Touchscreen driver (Thanks again Jay-C)
Flash Player IS NOT included by default but should be downloadable from http://www.adobe.com/go/getfp10android after activating device with google account (to enable market access)

All in all this is VERY stable, google apps give no reduction in speed nor do they crash (except once at first boot- see below)

ok now for the howto:

All these steps should be performed on N900
Start off with a open xterm window at root shell or an open ssh connection(ssh is easier to typ in)

1. Install new bootmenu if you chose to use it (highly recommended)

Code:
cd /
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz
tar xzvf bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz
rm bootmenu2.beta3.tar.gz
2. Download And Install new Kernel Modules
Code:
cd /lib/modules
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
tar xzvf modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
rm modules-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz 
rm current
ln -fs 2.6.28.NIT.02 current
depmod -a 2.6.28.NIT.02
3. Mount your android partition and install rootfs (this will wipe out previous data so backup anything you want)
Code:
cd /
mkdir and
mount -o noatime,rw /dev/mmcblk1p2 /and
cd /home/user/MyDocs
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/NITDroid-N900-0.0.5-1FroYo-GAPPS-Fixed.tar.bz2
bzip2 -d NITDroid-N900-0.0.5-1FroYo-GAPPS-Fixed.tar.bz2
cd /and
tar xvf /home/user/MyDocs/NITDroid-N900-0.0.5-1FroYo-GAPPS-Fixed.tar
cd ..
umount /and
rmdir /and
4. flash new kernel:
Code:
cd /home/user/MyDocs
wget http://downloads.nitdroid.com/Jay-c/zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
tar xzvf zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02.tar.gz
rm System.map-2.6.28.NIT.02
** open up a second xterm window as root and run this **
Code:
softupd -vv -s --local
** switch back to other xterm and continue **
Code:
flasher --local -f -k /home/user/MyDocs/zImage-2.6.28.NIT.02
close both xterm windows once flash completes.

thats the install done. now reboot into your new os

few things to mention about this build:

1. On first boot you will get a prompt of what to use to do something, pick setupwizard
2. it will take a short while for device to load far enough to select the item above so be patient
3. once into setup wizard click skip > skip and next all the way. then when it loads up the add account wizard skip that also.
4. SetupWizard will now crash, click close and the android desktop will return.
5. Go setup your wifi (will very likely require a reboot to work)
6. once wifi is up go into market app and wait, the add accoutn wizard will appear and you can now continue through and setup your google account. once it is setup wait and the market will load after a short time


hopefully this is nice and clear and simple

sorry for mega post again



Are these the only codes I have to enter in xterm?
copy and paste these codes in xterm in N900 and I would have a android running through my memory card?
Thanks
 
Descalzo's Avatar
Posts: 369 | Thanked: 167 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#2323
Originally Posted by somedude View Post
Are these the only codes I have to enter in xterm?
copy and paste these codes in xterm in N900 and I would have a android running through my memory card?
Thanks
You'll need to partition your card.
See the Help topic. http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=56524
__________________
N900
 
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#2324
Thanks for everything!

On boot "system stopped working"
No pop up to choose setupwizard..
Wifi is searching for ever..
(cannot "su" on terminal to make wifi working)
Battery indicator is on "?"
A lot of applications "stopped working"

Keep up the hard work guys!


Η Ελλάδα στηρίζει το έργο!
Greece is with you!
 
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 115 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Malaysia
#2325
Originally Posted by Descalzo View Post
You'll need to partition your card.
See the Help topic. http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=56524
Code:
sudo fdisk /dev/sdb

o
n
p
1
<press enter>
+128M

t
c
n
p
2
<press enter>
<press enter>

w

sudo mkdosfs /dev/sdb1

sudo mke2fs -j /dev/sdb2 -m0

If you receive an error saying "mounted.... "

type:

sudo umount /dev/sdb1

Again if you get a mounted error for: mke2fs

sudo umount /dev/sdb2 (for mke2fs line)

mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt


Download the android file to your desktop

cd /mnt
sudo tar xjvvpf ../home/USERNAME/DesktopNITDroid-N900-0.0.3-1-Demo.tbz2


umount /mnt
is this the way to partition the microSD?

is LINUX MINT compulsory to install android on the N900?
 
BLIZZARD's Avatar
Posts: 194 | Thanked: 266 times | Joined on May 2010
#2326
Keep up the good work guys, Cyprus is also with you
__________________
I LOVE THESE GAMES: STARCRAFT/STARCRAFT2
I LOVE N900 I LOVE C++ I LOVE UBUNTU
E.F.F, (QT) E.F.F EMPTY FREQUENCIES FINDER, CRAPS, T-CONTROL
 
Posts: 131 | Thanked: 78 times | Joined on May 2010
#2327
Originally Posted by one1002 View Post
is this the way to partition the microSD?

is LINUX MINT compulsory to install android on the N900?
That is the way, however, you can use a virtual machine running it (or ubuntu) via virtualbox. search the thread for details.
 
Posts: 208 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Belgium
#2328
ear0wax,

do you know something more about my problem;

mkdir and
mount -o noatime,rw /dev/mmcblk1p2 /and

which doenst work?
 
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#2329
Wow thank you all for your hard work and testing. This is moving very fast. I followed the instructions dj_steve posted and they worked very well and were easy to follow. No sooner had I finished there was a new update with wifi working lol.

I also installed the power kernel and settings and had to redo the last 2 steps on dj_steves tutorial again to get android to boot

thanks again guys.
 
Posts: 208 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Belgium
#2330
i have done everything correct but when i choose option 1 android it says

not found .le vfat????

what to do?
 
Closed Thread

Tags
android, cool stuff, froyo on n900, nitdroid


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:04.