Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Planet Rock
#181
managed to reset the lock code with the file from the first post on this thread, thanks to qwerty12.

Here is the step by step of what have I done.
1. download the a.out file from the first post of this thread + Give Thanks! to qwerty12.
2. copy the a.out file to the root folder of your phone.
3. open xterm and gain root via sudo gainroot.
4. cp /home/user/MyDocs/a.out /home/user/
5. chmod 777 a.out (give permissions to write)
6. run-standalone.sh ./a.out (pops up that security code reset to 12345)
7. rm a.out (hopefully you dont need it anymore)

I know that this is kind of lame solution and I'm sure that this can be done in a more sophisticated way, but I am a noob to the N900/Unix thingie. Anyway thanks again qwerty12.

Last edited by manbeast; 2011-01-31 at 11:40.
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to manbeast For This Useful Post:
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#182
Tnx for ur replay but it didn't work for me...
Dit this:

~ $ sudo gainroot
Root shell enabled


BusyBox v1.10.2 (Debian 3:1.10.2.legal-1osso30+0m5) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/home/user # cp /MyDocs/a.out /home/user/
cp: cannot stat '/MyDocs/a.out': No such file or directory
/home/user # run-standalone.sh ./a.out
/usr/bin/run-standalone.sh: line 11: ./a.out: not found
/home/user #

And yes the file is in my root (N900/)
what am I doeing wrong?
 
Posts: 842 | Thanked: 1,197 times | Joined on May 2010
#183
It's "./MyDocs" not "/MyDocs" - He forgot the . at the beginning.
__________________
My projects: BackupMenu - OS Backup & restore | Video: Flashing your n900(LiveCD)
My devices: N770 + 8GB SD card soldered internally, N900 with 8GB SD card + Custom OC(125-950 typically).
OC freqs: 0:22,90 125:22,90 250:28,180 500:30,360 550:32,400 600:34,430 700:39,430 750:41,430 805:45,430 850:47,500 900:50,500 950:54,500 1000:58,500 1100:67,520 1150:71,520
 

The Following User Says Thank You to RobbieThe1st For This Useful Post:
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#184
that doesnt make ant sense still got the same error. What is the function of CP?

Last edited by Warhamstr; 2011-01-31 at 07:49.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Planet Rock
#185
cp is for copy. Basically I do this because I dunno how to copy the a.out file to a directory where I can run it. MyDocs is noexec, so you cannot run it from there.

Sorry just tried and got the same prob as you it was my mistake.
The correct command is like this:
cp /home/user/MyDocs/a.out /home/user/

I think it will work that way. I've just tried it...

Last edited by manbeast; 2011-01-31 at 10:07.
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#186
mmm, got Permission Denied after the last commands.

It looks like there is something wrong with my rights?
 
Posts: 136 | Thanked: 150 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Finland
#187
Originally Posted by Warhamstr View Post
mmm, got Permission Denied after the last commands.

It looks like there is something wrong with my rights?
Does this command work for you if you run it after doing sudo gainroot?:

echo root:$(grep -A 13 lock_code /dev/mtd1|tail -1)

if it does, it should give you the hash in a format like this:
root:randomstring
you can then use john the ripper to decrypt it in few seconds
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mooglez For This Useful Post:
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Planet Rock
#188
then after the copy enter the following:
chmod 777 a.out
it should work after that.

Last edited by manbeast; 2011-01-31 at 11:40.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Planet Rock
#189
Originally Posted by mooglez View Post
Does this command work for you if you run it after doing sudo gainroot?:

echo root:$(grep -A 13 lock_code /dev/mtd1|tail -1)

if it does, it should give you the hash in a format like this:
root:randomstring
you can then use john the ripper to decrypt it in few seconds
We are using this method becuse the one you have mentioned gives the following output
root::
 

The Following User Says Thank You to manbeast For This Useful Post:
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#190
Originally Posted by manbeast View Post
then after the copy enter the following:
chmod 777 a.out
it should work after that.
Oh You Are The Best! and any other dat helped me ofc. My Lock Code was changed!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Warhamstr For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
devicelock, nokia n900


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:00.