Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#21
That, sir, is wonderful! Many thanks!

And once again, we (users at large, not me) have fixed Nokia's problem for them. I could get really grouchy about their software, if the hardware wasn't so sweet.

But, to my mind, it's as useful, or perhaps more, to have in personal menu a toggle for lockability...

Being too lazy to remember the precise details of sudo syntax (I think it's shell globbing, not regex?), I'm also going to fall back on two lines where one would do:

in /etc/sudoers (i.e. use visudo):
Code:
user ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/chattr -i /home/user/.osso/hildon-desktop/home-layout.conf
user ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/chattr +i /home/user/.osso/hildon-desktop/home-layout.conf
Then something like:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ x`lsattr /home/user/.osso/hildon-desktop/home-layout.conf | grep '^[^ ]i'` != x ] ; then
  sudo /usr/bin/chattr -i /home/user/.osso/hildon-desktop/home-layout.conf
else
  sudo /usr/bin/chattr +i /home/user/.osso/hildon-desktop/home-layout.conf
fi
Throw that in a script to toggle it from p-menu...

Oh, and one thing; chattr is e2fs only, AFAIK. So only for SD-booting people?
 
emjayes's Avatar
Posts: 121 | Thanked: 163 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Oulu, Finland
#22
chattr is e2fs only, AFAIK. So only for SD-booting people?
I do boot from internal "MMC" of N810 so that may well be.

Here's an idea!

copy the home.conf and home-layout.conf to home.1 and home-layout.1
disable all used applets, enable other applets, save to home.2 etc.

With a small script you can have two different desktops!
just copy *.1 to *.conf and restart hildon-desktop to see desktop 1
then copy *.2 to *.conf and restart hildon-desktop to see desktop 2

I will make this tomorrow, if it seems interesting to people
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#23
Slickness. If hildon-desktop weren't so slow at starting, I'd be restarting it everytime I rotate. With the ability to not only fix my wallpaper, but also swap the home applets layout, and also not worry about them getting moved... I think it'll be worth the time now.

(Previously, I had pretty much given up on home applets, and on nice wallpaper...)
 
emjayes's Avatar
Posts: 121 | Thanked: 163 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Oulu, Finland
#24
Done:
http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ad.php?t=20078
AND it works for non-SD booting people.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to emjayes For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:52.