My n810 recently broke (charging pin broke) after awning it for about 3 months. I work as a computer tech in retail so I am more than familiar with warranty procedures and policies. I call nokia and talked to them about sorting out a return. I honestly wish I recorded the call, here is basically what I was told.

They said since I lived in Canada and I purchased a device with a US serial number, they didn't have the facilities to repair it in Canada. After asking why, I was then told the devices used different software (huh?) so the Canadian repair center didn't have the facilites to repair it. I said fine, let me ship it to the US and have it repaired there. They then told me that I could do that but Nokia wouldn't ship my device back overseas to me. I kindly pointed out that the US and Canada were actually one big piece of land, and that I would send the device in a pre-paid mailer to it would cost nokia absolutely nothing. Once again, I was told that was not possible. After asking why, I was told it was in the warranty policy that it wasn't possible....

I have NEVER seen such horrible neglect of customer service. Of all my experiences with warranty repairs I have never seen a policy like nokias.

I loved this device too. What am I going to buy now? A palm?

[/rant]

Posts: 3,790 | Thanked: 5,718 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted by Morhas View Post
They said since I lived in Canada and I purchased a device with a US serial number, they didn't have the facilities to repair it in Canada. After asking why, I was then told the devices used different software (huh?) so the Canadian repair center didn't have the facilites to repair it.
This part is interesting. Do they already have Fremantle in Canada? Or are they still on Mistral? Questions, questions,...