Posts: 283 | Thanked: 60 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ It's dark in here. I hear laughing.
I'm a university professor. I want to engage some students in research questions that look at topics surrounding tablets and Maemo. I would be very interested in ideas of what this research could be.

I'm defining "research" as investigation into unanswered questions or innovative solutions to problems involving, in this case, Internet tablets and/or Maemo development.

I don't think that software development by itself qualifies as research, especially if it's an implementation of a developed idea. So things like Maemo projects in the Google Summer of Code don't qualify in my view (at the moment). But maybe this is too narrow a view.

Any ideas here would help me out a lot. Thanks!

Posts: 415 | Thanked: 732 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Finland
How about researching runtime effiency of GTK+/Hildon software compared to applications written in Qt, python, etc.

At least I'm interested in how much it costs to write SW with an alternative toolkit/language.

The Following User Says Thank You to timoph For This Useful Post:
Posts: 283 | Thanked: 60 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ It's dark in here. I hear laughing.
Originally Posted by timoph View Post
How about researching runtime effiency of GTK+/Hildon software compared to applications written in Qt, python, etc.

At least I'm interested in how much it costs to write SW with an alternative toolkit/language.
This is a cool idea. Also interesting might be the relative efficiency of scripting languages vs compiled applications. Or in how much the various speed-up methods enhance Python performance.

Input is the one.

Pretty must all small form factor devices suffer from the same problem - not being able to get data into the device at the same speed and comfort that you would a laptop or desktop device.

The success of the keyboard (even in the inefficient qwerty configuration) is unparalleled.