Notices

Posts: 187 | Thanked: 162 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Sunny Woollahra
Get it running on my N900? (I am a bit of a noob, please be gentle & continue reading)

I bought it on Steam (and it runs great on my laptop - available Here ) though it is the sort of game where an idea for a solution can come to you anywhere at any time.

The above link provides a link to the demo for PC, Mac & Linux so I thought I'd try to get it working on my N900. I downloaded it to my N900 (its a .tar.gz) but HAM wont open it.

So I emailed the developer & received this as a reply:

On Linux the game requires Mono. If you can find an ARM port of Mono it is possible that you could get the game to run by following the directions on our site, although considering the game uses GL and not GL-ES and runs at no less than 1024x768 I'm skeptical that it will work.
These are the directions from the website: Here
Install on Ubuntu
Wait for the package to finish downloading.
Extract the SpaceChem-XXXX.tar.gz archive.
In the extracted folder, open the correct Debian package for your platform by double-clicking on it. Don't worry, Ubuntu won't let you install the wrong one!
If you are on an i386 (32 bit) platform, select the “SpaceChem-i386.deb” package.
If you are on an amd64 (64 bit) platform, double-click the “make-amd64-package.sh” script. When it completes, select the “SpaceChem-amd64.deb” package.
Click the “install” button in the package installation program.

Install on Other Linux Distributions
If you cannot install the Debian package successfully, you can manually extract and run SpaceChem. First, you need the following libraries installed:
SDL
SDL_mixer
SDL_image
Mono 2.0
Mono WCF 3.0 library (Debian package "libmono-wcf3.0-cil")
Mono WinForms library (Debian package "libmono-winforms2.0-cil")
xclip
Next, from bash or a similar command-line interface:
Copy SpaceChem.deb or SpaceChemDemo.deb into a temporary directory.
Extract the game files from the Debian package.
~$ mkdir temp