Posts: 334 | Thanked: 55 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ Eastern Ontario, Canada
Ahem.

I am new to Linux repo land, but on Windows (yeah, I know) I have never come across such a brittle distribution system. Furthermore, it is trivial to make your own copies of an application distribution for later installs. Installing a media player or Python is not rocket science - or is it?

It seems to have taken several uber-geeks several hours to figure out how to cobble together a new distribution for Canola. Is this normal for Linux?

Once Maemo comes back on stream then is there any way that I can download a copy of an application install to my own hard drive so that I only ever have to visit Maemo once per application in future? And so that other folks can back up/mirror the Maemo repos.

What happens if Maemo really goes down? Like a building fire or a lightening strike or gets badly hacked. I suppose they have backups ...

Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,784 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
If the app doesn't have outside dependencies you can find and download the deb files sometimes by going to the developers homepage in Maemo Garage.

Search >>HERE<<

I've actually been quite surprised with how bad the repos are. Following the OS2008 update, everything has grinded to a halt with everyone trying to grab the OS and reinstall packages at the same time. It's pretty nuts that there isn't a single mirror for any of these repos!

That said, you can avoid the issue in the future by keeping your own up-to-date repository mirror. That way when there is another mass upgrade, you can still do the same for yourself on your own network (provided you can get the OS image of course). I haven't done so myself personally, but I think after seeing all this it would probably be a worthwhile venture. Google offers no lack of instructions on the matter either.

The Following User Says Thank You to skeezer65134 For This Useful Post:
Originally Posted by dont View Post