I have just bought an N800 off ebay. I have been using Ubuntu full-time for about 2 years now so am reasonable competent. The N800 has not arrived yet but I am already reading how to hack it! I have 2 2gig SD Cards. Today I downloaded Xubuntu and copied across the iso images to the SD Card. When I get my N800 will I be able to boot from the SD Card and install Xubuntu?

I have bought it a portable Bluetooth keyboard from the link in Accessories forum here. I do want a full Desktop on it. I don't particularly like KDE (will use it I have to).

Will this work any tips, instructions etc etc???

Helen

Posts: 3,220 | Thanked: 326 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ "Almost there!" (Monte Christo, Count of)
Originally Posted by helliewm View Post
I have just bought an N800 off ebay. I have been using Ubuntu full-time for about 2 years now so am reasonable competent. The N800 has not arrived yet but I am already reading how to hack it! I have 2 2gig SD Cards. Today I downloaded Xubuntu and copied across the iso images to the SD Card. When I get my N800 will I be able to boot from the SD Card and install Xubuntu?

I have bought it a portable Bluetooth keyboard from the link in Accessories forum here. I do want a full Desktop on it. I don't particularly like KDE (will use it I have to).

Will this work any tips, instructions etc etc???

Helen
You didn't really read up a lot on the N800 before hitting that "Pay now!" button, did you?

But to answer your question: No.

There is a fellow who got Debian Sid for ARM EABI working on his 770. Finding it is a nice exercise in using the search function of this forum, which something tells me is what you'll be hearing a lot.

Oh fine. I shall I use the KDE desktop work around. Its fine. Or I shall get Abiword etc up and running. Its not a problem. I am just looking at all options. It would help if it arrived so I could play with it!

Helen