Active Topics

Ok here's some background on myself. I am a quite advanced Linux user, and have absolutely no problem dabbling with configuration files and am quite confident in my command line-fu. And I am quite familiar with wikis, IRCs and forums (so I have done a fair share of searching, and have been browsing these threads for a while now)

I am a graduate student, and my university has WiFi throughout, so I figured a "internet tablet" , a "mobile internet device" or perhaps "UMPC" is what I am looking for. I want something that fits in my pocket, primarily, and doesn't need a bag to carry it in.

1. My university's network uses the following technologies: WPA-enterprise, PEAP, TKIP, MSCHAP-V2 and EAP-MSCHAPv2 for its security. On my linux-running laptops, this meant downloading a .certificate file and editing the configuration for wpa_supplicant (though the most recent Network Manager allowed me to do it through a GUI I think). Can N810 connect to this?

2. I understand the n810 can do remote access technologies like remote access, VNC, SSH. But can it do VPN? My university connection gives me access to journals and stuff from professional societies, and if I am outside the univ they provide a Cisco client (for all types of OS). Can I install this in my n810?

3. Java support. How good is it?

4. I have a Nokia 6102i flip phone. With bluetooth. Nokia provides a "Nokia PC Suite" application for Windows, which allows me to tether to the phone and use it as a modem (though I am not sure AT&T likes that ;-). Will the Nokia n810 tether as easily with the 6102i as my Windows PC running PC Suite can? I am assuming as they are both Nokia devices they shouldn't have difficulties, or is there some family problem amongst them? ;-)