Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Feb 2009
#1
Hi guys,

Cud somebody help me out with the steps that ive taken to get Qt, installed on the device. This is what i had followed.

1. Flashing the Device
I was successful in flashing the device with Diablo OS 2008.
2. Installed successfully OpenSSH server and client.
3. From the terminal, ive run the command "ssh root@localhost". In the X Terminal (under Utilities), 'EDITOR=vi visudo' and added the
following lines:
user ALL = (ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL
root ALL = (ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL

(Somehow i think this should take care of root installation, but really don't know further what it does).

4. To get Qt on the Device, under xTerminal of the device, i went to the path etc / apt / and edited the file sources.list by adding the following texts
deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras/ diablo free non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/extras/ diablo free
deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/ diablo free non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/ diablo free

5. Following this i did a apt-get update. Once this was done, i was unable to find any Qt related sources. Even after doing an apt-get install, nothing seems to have copied / installed.

Could somebody point out where exactly i have gone wrong?

Regards
FIgure07
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#2
Originally Posted by Figure07 View Post
Hi guys,

Cud somebody help me out with the steps that ive taken to get Qt, installed on the device. This is what i had followed.

1. Flashing the Device
I was successful in flashing the device with Diablo OS 2008.
2. Installed successfully OpenSSH server and client.
3. From the terminal, ive run the command "ssh root@localhost". In the X Terminal (under Utilities), 'EDITOR=vi visudo' and added the
following lines:
user ALL = (ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL
root ALL = (ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL
The usual way to do this would be to install the rootsh package, or one of the other options. That said, what you did looks fine to me.

Originally Posted by Figure07 View Post
4. To get Qt on the Device, under xTerminal of the device, i went to the path etc / apt / and edited the file sources.list by adding the following texts
deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras/ diablo free non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/extras/ diablo free
deb http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/ diablo free non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel/ diablo free

5. Following this i did a apt-get update. Once this was done, i was unable to find any Qt related sources. Even after doing an apt-get install, nothing seems to have copied / installed.

Could somebody point out where exactly i have gone wrong?

Regards
FIgure07
Can you tell us what exactly you tried to install? The packages won't show up in Hildon Application Manager, but you can find a list of what's available here. Also, just to gauge things, how much experience do you have with Linux, or specifically, Debian-based systems?
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Feb 2009
#3
Dear jaem,
thanx for the reply.

I am taking a look the list link that you have posted.
Im trying to install Qt 4.4.3 on the device and am a beginner with respect to Debian-based systems. I would be glad if you could help me out wth the installation..

Regards
FIgure07

Last edited by Figure07; 2009-03-09 at 11:01.
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#4
Okay, then.
First of all, the question that comes to mind is why you want Qt installed. If you want to install a Qt-based program, then installing that in the App Manager will pull all the needed Qt dependencies with it utomatically. If you want to develop Qt-based apps, that's another thing altogether. Apart from that, I don't understand what you'd need them for. The Qt libraries in the link I gave you just provide support for applications that use Qt instead of GTK/Hildon. Installing them by themselves will make no noticeable difference.
As for apt-get on the command line, hopefully you have familiarized yourself with the basic syntax. If not, here's what you need to know:
the file name of the package is in three parts, separated by underscores:
libqt4-core_4.4.1-1maemo2_armel.deb
the first part is what you'd type into the command line with apt-get to install it. The second part is the version, and the last part is the processor architecture (ARM, in this case).
So provided that this file was in a repository that you have set up on the device, you could install it with this command:
apt-get install libqt4-core
and remove it with:
apt-get remove libqt4-core
If you manually downloaded a *.deb file (not recommended unless needed), you can install it with:
dpkg --install /path/to/file/libqt4-core_4.4.1-1maemo2_armel.deb
and remove it by changing --install to --remove
Notice that you need the whole filename with this method. If you did this, it would likely complain at you, and tell you that you need to go download a whole bunch of files and install them first. That's why we have apt-get :P

Hopefully this helps, and I apologize if you already knew some or all of this. If you tell me what you're trying to accomplish, I may be able to help some more.

Cheers,
 

The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Feb 2009
#5
Hi jaem,
Im trying to develop Qt applications on my linux (OpenSuSe) and port them on the device...For this, i understand cross compilers (scratchbox) is also needed ( doing installation for that too ).

(Example) Lets say a simple Helloworld program which i create on my linux PC should run on my device as well.

Regards
Figure07
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#6
Ah, okay. Sorry, then. As far as I know, the Qt packages for Maemo are packaged similarly to most distros (at least, the ones that split the packages, like Debian). To do a Hello World app, you'd need at least QtCore, and the rest could be installed as needed. I haven't played around with Qt on Maemo (or at all, much), but in my understanding, it should work more or less like on your SuSE box. Since you can run apps in scratchbox, it may be easier to just try a quick Hello World in there, before you try packaging anything for Maemo.

Cheers,
 

The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Sep 2009
#7
Hi I'm just trying to do the same but there are no qt-packages for Diablo.
Have they been moved or is there another way to install the libs on the n810?

Greetings
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#8
? They're right there. If you want to go through the application manager, just install qt-maemo-example and it will pull in the libs.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Sep 2009
#9
Already tried that but there are missing dependencies libglib2 and freetype6. Installing them directly only gave me Incompatible App. Manager can't find them.

OS: RX-44_DIABLO5_2008.43-7_PR-COMBINED_MR0_ARM

The device is a prototype, might that be the cause?
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Sep 2009
#10
./kick-***(self)

After flashing back to DIABLO4 somehow it just installed as it should be...
It can be so easy.

So now PyQt runs lets start developing
 

The Following User Says Thank You to TheTall1 For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:25.