Posts: 1,589 | Thanked: 720 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Arlington (DFW), Texas
I'm new to Linux, but want to learn more. I have 2 Toshiba Tecra M2-S730 and a Tecra M3-S336 notebook PC's that I'd thrown on the trash heap, and once I find some extra laptop hard drives, I plan to install Linux and possibly Windows XP as a dual boot option. I also have a couple 4gb jump drives to experiment as boot drives as well.

I'm pretty good on the Windows tech. Here's what I need to know. What will I need on the Linux end once I get my hard drives? How do device drivers work for Linux? Will I need to find them first, or does Linux have a system to handle them seemlessly?

The biggest question of all is which Linux to use? I'm leaning towards Ubuntu because of popularity, but what do you suggest for a beginner? I'm a beginner, but not a tech neophyte. I don't think I'll be tripped up too much, and I want a distro that I can keep. Don't suggest the "My First Linux" distro that I'll want to replace once I get a little knowledge.

What do you guys think?

Posts: 780 | Thanked: 855 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Helsinki, Finland
Ubuntu is probably the newbie-frendliest distro and usually "Just works". Try downloading and burning the live cd so you can try the driver support and install it on your HD straight from the live cd environment.

Also Ubuntu isn't "dumbed down" almost at all, so you get full linux experience with it.

Only thing I personally don't like about it is the bro... orangeish default theme of it but you can always change that

Last edited by joppu; 2009-09-22 at 07:47.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joppu For This Useful Post:
I beg to differ. It like other "user friendly Desktop" distros does not contain the necessary packages to compile packages.

Puppy Linux is good for usb thumb drives.