Active Topics

Hey there, i'm looking into developing an app over my christmas leave for the N900. I posted what i'd like to do in this thread along with a few question which might have been best asked here

http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=38351

The point of this post is i'm finding it difficult as a first time linux and n900 developer to really find any guides to help me in and i found the API documents confusing. I'm a developer by trade, I work with Asp.Net and Java so i couldn't be any futher away from Linux and C, however i have used C and C++ before on university courses, so i have some understanding.

What i'm asking for is whether theres some guides i've missed or general information people could give me as a newbie in linux and maemo as everything seems very confusing for me right now.

I think maybe this is one area which could be improved upon to bring in more maemo developers, as I have a friend who was curious about developing for the N900 and got scared away by the confusion of it, as I might have been had it not be for my love of this device. When compared to developing ease of the iPhone and Andriod, the N900 is not that appealing to some leisure developers.

Thanks, Loz.

The Following User Says Thank You to LozBlake For This Useful Post:
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Ireland
Have you checked out MADD yet? I got it set up today without any problems. You can start by reading here, here, here and here. Which will get you a simple app running

The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to pwngu!n For This Useful Post:
this is a great start thanks pwngu1n. i'll look into this after christmas day. Being able to develop from windows machines is a great plus for me

Posts: 355 | Thanked: 566 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Redstone Canyon, Colorado
I can offer you space on a box with a /scratchbox installed already, which may help you get the ball rolling. This offer is open to anyone wanting to develop Free Software for Maemo/N900.