Active Topics

Notices

Posts: 173 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ London, UK
I have a list of requirements for osso-xterm (or another terminal, perhaps real XTerm rather than this one), so I'd like to collect ideas so I'm not kludging/developing ideas which nobody else would like, or missing a cool feature that somebody else thinks of.

My main aim is to be comfortable sshing to a screen session where I can read my email in alpine, chat in irssi (with bitlbee for jabber) and various other windows that I use from time to time, even some basic coding.

I've been doing this for over 10 years from the Nokia 9000 all the way via the e90 and N97 to the n900 and I've had to put up with various (typically hardware) deficiencies on each platform, with the 9300/9500 and e90 probably being the best at being terminal emulators for me. Sadly they were large and pretty featureless as phones as times move on (to be fair, they were great in their day).

I only _JUST_ got the N97 s2putty working the way I like it, with some patches of my own and various enhancements from people working on the code. The n900 takes an annoying step back for me and I have a list of things which I feel would be great.

This boils down to a few key (scuse the pun) issues. The keys I use a lot, the terminal size/font screen layout and the niceties.

I want Ctrl to be sticky.

I want easier access to [ | and maybe ~ and ^

I want exactly 80x24 in fullscreen with a nice rich font full UTF-8 goodness.

I want the Up swipe gesture to send a Tab (or better to make gestures a general configuration).

I want to be able to cut and paste with ease, and ideally match URLs to spawn the browser.

I have almost achieved a lot of these and will follow up with details.