Active Topics

i downloaded a application to my pc for n900. I then transferred it via usb connectivity to my downloads folder on n900. then i copied it to my documents folder. the prob is how do i install the application in that folder. it is a rar file. I downloaded something called 7 zip from repositories and i think i installed it with the x terminal (which i am nto too familiar with) but how do i use it to un rar the application and install it on my phone. any help would be greatly appreciated

First of call, why didn't you unpack the rar file on your computer in the first place?
Which application is it?
And why are you not using repositories?

The Following User Says Thank You to youxing For This Useful Post:
Originally Posted by youxing View Post
First of call, why didn't you unpack the rar file on your computer in the first place?
Which application is it?
And why are you not using repositories?
mostly becasue i am a noob, piecing together bits of unspecific terminal tutorials and commands. its a torrent for sygic north america couldnt find it in the repositories. Should i extract on the PC and then transfer? i'm not sure the best way to do it. i have never opened a rar

Alright, although you are using pirated software, I'm gonna help you out:

Install 7zip on your COMPUTER. http://www.7-zip.org/
Right click on the rar file and then unpack it using the 7zip option
Then, you will have a folder with a lot of stuff in it.
I'm sure there are instructions in this folder that will tell you what to do!

The Following User Says Thank You to youxing For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Masku, Finland
"7zip e filename.rar" in terminal.

Also, read this.

http://forums.internettablettalk.com...671#post587671

The Following User Says Thank You to JereHakala For This Useful Post:
Posts: 134 | Thanked: 91 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Imperial College London
Originally Posted by andraeseus1 View Post