Active Topics

Hi, i've been browsing here alot since i got my new n900 around 3 weeks ago. I love the lil thing, however, as its been already said enough before, portrait is missing.
its a huge risk using it while driving as it doesnt even have voice commands, also, you cant just take the phone out of your pocket and immedietly make a call nor input a phone number quickly.

So after some thought i think i've found a doable way to achive a certain lever of portrait usability.
Here i state that i am not a programmer, my knowladge is limited to some C and Essembler so i cant do it myself, basicaly what I suggest is:

1. Code a small app that will be able to turn widgets, contacts and icons 90 degrees to the left.

2. put all those in the same hildon home screen.

3. [OPTIONAL] a feature to lock the device to the certain hildon screen while holding the phone portrait.

4.[OPTIONAL] make a simple numpad widget so you could type number hands on from that screen.

THATS IT! lets think, what do you really need portrait? phone & contacts shortcuts? maybe some contacts? opera shortcut? weather, clock or numpad widget? i think thats will sum up all my portrait uses.

EDIT: Brainstorm link
I hope this is helpful to someone, if not, PLEASE DONT SHOOT ME! I'M NEW!!

Last edited by ironm8; 2010-06-18 at 12:21. Reason: spelllllling

First of all, to the creator of this thread, I think you meant to make the title of the thread " Regarding Portrait mode," REGARDID being misspelled...I don't know if you can rename threads, but it might be a good idea.

Edit: I just looked at one of the stickies for brainstorming, and I apologize if I am not doing this right, but I guess you should link the brainstorm you are refrencing here. Since Ironm8 didn't do it, I will link the brainstorm. Actually, it looks like some of my ideas are already there, so coolio!

Brainstorm link