Active Topics

Posts: 30 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Florida
Hi!

I am not a developer, but would like to dabble. I just would like to know where would be a good start to learn specifically to develop for maemo5 with the n900 in mind?

The reason is I just want to make a non-smoker cigarette app. When all the smokers go for a break, I want to have a cigarette too, for an excuse to take a break. Just a simple app, press the button and the cigarette goes down.

I am Adobe Certified Associate for CS3 and CS4, basic-mid flash skills, and will hopefully pass my A+ this month. So I feel that I have a decent base to work on.

Thanks for any advice!

PS. The N900 rocks only because of developers like you!

Last edited by gonediscin; 2010-09-19 at 18:46.

Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 979 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ SF Bay Area
If you plan to code in C++, start by downloading the Nokia QT SDK here and reading through the wiki here.
If you want to go the Python route, go here.
qgvnotify: Google voice and contacts notifier for diablo and maemo.

If you want to thank me, click the Thanks button.
If you'd like to thank my applications, vote to move them to extras.

The Following User Says Thank You to uvatbc For This Useful Post:
I would recommend the Python route. You'll get more done in less time and PyQT is great. You will get compatibility with Symbian^3, Meego, MS Windows and Desktop Linuxes without recompiling.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zimon For This Useful Post:
+1 on zimon's advice. Except maybe for graphics or CPU-intensive apps, there is no reason nowadays to suffer through C++ just to get stuff done.

(Notice I didn't say "simple stuff": Python + Qt allows for some pretty powerful apps)

The Following User Says Thank You to fpp For This Useful Post:
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 337 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austin, TX, USA