Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 401 | Thanked: 724 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Italy
#1
Hello!
I'm developing a new virtual keyboard on N900 using D-BUS to link hildon-input-method-plugin to my app...

Now I have a problem: when I tap on an input field my application is correctly opened and I can write what i want BUT when I tap on "commit" button, message is written in my application text field!

The problem is that when my app is shown, QTextEdit takes focus and it becomes the client for hildon-input-method-plugin.

Can someone help me?

Last edited by realsportcars; 2011-01-21 at 02:53.
 

The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to realsportcars For This Useful Post:
Posts: 401 | Thanked: 724 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Italy
#2
UPDATE: Quite sure that I have to hide my app before d-bus signal is propagated, but because my app is based on QMainWindow, when I hide it, N900 return to task managers view, so no input field has focus.

Is there a way to focus on previous window?
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to realsportcars For This Useful Post:
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#3
Why QMainWindow and not QDialog parented to the window that called the vkb?
You could disable text entry in a QTextEdit and listen to clicked().
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MohammadAG For This Useful Post:
Posts: 401 | Thanked: 724 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Italy
#4
Originally Posted by MohammadAG View Post
Why QMainWindow and not QDialog parented to the window that called the vkb?
You could disable text entry in a QTextEdit and listen to clicked().
Because the app was initially developed as standalone app: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=56220

What do you mean with "You could disable text entry in a QTextEdit and listen to clicked()"?

PS Honored to have your attention
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to realsportcars For This Useful Post:
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#5
setReadOnly(true), then override the mouseReleaseEvent(QMouseEvent) to emit a clicked() signal on clicking the widget, this way, hildon-input-method won't start on that QTextEdit box

See groove's source code, I see dotblank's doing that with his portrait keyboard.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MohammadAG For This Useful Post:
Posts: 401 | Thanked: 724 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Italy
#6
Originally Posted by MohammadAG View Post
setReadOnly(true), then override the mouseReleaseEvent(QMouseEvent) to emit a clicked() signal on clicking the widget, this way, hildon-input-method won't start on that QTextEdit box

See groove's source code, I see dotblank's doing that with his portrait keyboard.
Thank you a lot! I will try your solution...
As first step using QDialog resolve the problem to "raise" the client when input is done.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to realsportcars For This Useful Post:
Posts: 401 | Thanked: 724 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Italy
#7
IT WORKSSSSSS! XDXDXDXDXDXD

"Barman, drinks for all"

Thank you a lot!!!
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to realsportcars For This Useful Post:
Posts: 401 | Thanked: 724 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Italy
#8
PS: In scratchbox (not yet tried on N900) cursor of input-field is not more visible, probably because of "read-only" property...Is there a workaround?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to realsportcars For This Useful Post:
Posts: 401 | Thanked: 724 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Italy
#9
I have just tried on N900 and I'm happy to say that my keyboard works on portrait and landscape (no sigfault error, atm) . I have some problem to solve. The main is this: autorotation seems not working, kb remains orientated as it spawn.
For example if I open it holding the phone in vertical, kb is drawn in portrait but when I "close" it, the parent window remains orientated in portrait.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to realsportcars For This Useful Post:
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#10
You mean even if the window is in landscape mode, and you open the keyboard in portrait mode, then the window will also flip into portrait mode and will most probably not layout correctly? If so I also hit that with MediaBar's settings applet.

(Putting this on gitorious would be nice )
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MohammadAG For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
great keyboard!, portrait, portrait vkb, realsportcars, thank you, thanks wikiwide, _keyboards want, _to be free


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:23.