Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 5,322 | Thanked: 16,231 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#1
I purchased another N900 recently and cloned my old one to this one since it was in a slightly better cosmetic shape. Everything works fine - except... when I am in a phone call, the sound always goes through the loudspeaker regardless on my selection. I bought it from a respectable member of this community who says it never behaved like that before and I have no reason to challenge that. I am more inclined to believing that I messed up something. Any ideas?

Edit:
Just noticed that plugging in headphones makes no difference. An icon appears in the status bar but the sound is still directed through the loudspeakers.

Edit 2:
FMTX too! The icon appears and FM turns on (as indicated by my car radio), but no sound is transmitted through it. It still goes through the speakers. I see it as a good sign though: it must be in software and not some misplaced wires or something.

I have no way to test with Bluetooth but have no reason to believe it would be any different.

Last edited by pichlo; 2013-06-13 at 17:31.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 5,322 | Thanked: 16,231 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#2
Bump. Any ideas?

Skype is also playing up BTW. Shows green icon as if connected but when I try to make a call it says "Unable to establish connection."
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 324 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ middle of nowhere
#3
try a reflash
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ryu1 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 594 | Thanked: 1,094 times | Joined on Aug 2012 @ Rhine
#4
do you have installed any app / tweak, maybe related to that? something like speaker switcher or similar?

if so, my first try would be to uninstall it...

Last edited by Leinad; 2013-06-15 at 05:57.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Leinad For This Useful Post:
panjgoori's Avatar
Posts: 1,215 | Thanked: 1,241 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ Balochistan
#5
seems like flashing is the only solution left untill some experienced users suggest something. why dont u flash your device to check whether problem persist or not and then restore again that backupmenu backup.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to panjgoori For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 5,322 | Thanked: 16,231 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#6
No speaker tweak. As mentioned in the first post, device B is a clone of device A which worked perfectly. The only reason I wanted to avoid flashing is that I have just spent two days laboriously moving all my songs and videos collection from device A to device B by means of swapping SD cards (the USB port on device A is a bit temperamental) and have run out of space in my PC to back it all up.

EDIT: Oh, and another thing. Device A has now become my sacrificial device and I bricked it in the process. No problem, I thought, I will flash it. It turns out I could flash Combined but it failed flashing Vanilla. I've had another device ending up like that, I am a bit weary of risking it with my device B.

Last edited by pichlo; 2013-06-15 at 07:18.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 3,303 | Thanked: 6,143 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#7
@pichlo
Why did the eMMC image failed to flash? What was the output of flasher?
Do you have repartitioned your device(s).

Just curious.
Sorry to say that I do not have any idea for your original problem (except reflash).
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Marshall Banana's Avatar
Posts: 85 | Thanked: 170 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#8
Hi pichlo,
when i played around with recording sounds from the microphone input i stored the original alsa settings, maybe this can fix your problem:
download hs file
sudo gainroot
alsactl restore -f hs.txt

Edit: I just wanted to call somebody and realized that i uploaded the wrong file, sorry. If you use hs.txt your builtin mic wont work. Please use test.txt instead.
Attached Files
File Type: txt hs.txt (13.1 KB, 163 views)
File Type: txt test.txt (13.1 KB, 110 views)

Last edited by Marshall Banana; 2013-06-15 at 12:49.
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Marshall Banana For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 5,322 | Thanked: 16,231 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#9
Originally Posted by Marshall Banana View Post
alsactl restore -f hs.txt
Ahh, thanks a lot for that hint. It did not do the trick but thanks to you I have now learned about alsactl and tried it with a few options. The first I tried was alsactl init and got this:
Code:
# alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "tlv320aic3x" "" "" "" ""
Hardware is initialized using a guess method
#
This gives me enough confidence to try flashing just rootfs to see if it fixes the problem. It looks like my two devices have slightly different hardware.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 5,322 | Thanked: 16,231 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#10
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
@pichlo
Why did the eMMC image failed to flash? What was the output of flasher?
Do you have repartitioned your device(s).
Sorry I wasn't ignoring you, only waiting to get to a big PC (all my previous posts were from my phone). Here is the flasher output:

Code:
# flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.13-2.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin -f
flasher v2.5.2 (Oct 21 2009)

Image 'mmc', size 255947 kB
	Version RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.13-2.VANILLA
USB device found found at bus 001, device address 009.
Raw data transfer EP found at EP2.
Using flashing protocol Mk II.
Raw data transfer timed out. 255947 kB]
#
This is on a device with 4GB home and 25GB MyDocs. I thought that flashing the MMC would wipe the partitions anyway?

My previous experience trying to flash the MMC on a stock device is described here. I tried that on two machines (both 32 bit) with three different OSes before I gave up. Basically, I have never managed to successfully flash the MMC on any device in my possession.

Regarding my sound problem, it is late and I feel like hitting the bead rather than flashing my device B right now but I will proceed as per my post above as soon as practical.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
nokia n900

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:15.