maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   [M5] Commercial Apps on Maemo (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94453)

Copernicus 2015-01-13 10:48

Commercial Apps on Maemo

As a part-time app developer, I've released a handful of open-source apps to the Maemo Extras repository. But recently, I've been expanding my efforts to other operating systems, and toying with the idea of releasing some commercial, closed-source apps.

While I am fine with the idea of releasing apps open-source, there are just some situations where you cannot operate an app for free. (Case in point, there are no free sources of weather data, so to create a weather app you need to pay someone a regular, ongoing fee.) So, are there any methods left in the Maemo world for distributing an app that requires some form of payment?

nokiabot 2015-01-13 13:26

Re: Commercial Apps on Maemo

maybe there are better options but matters most is payment system ex opera store maybe board can try.

klinglerware 2015-01-13 13:29

This is a good question, especially in light of Nokia Store closing down.

I don't think there are alternatives for commercial distribution of maemo/meego applications at the moment.

Maybe we can investigate how OpenPandora and other niche-y opensource platforms handle their commercial apps, and see if there are reapplications for the maemo/meego platform.

Also, Symbian AppList (sort of an analog to OpenRepos) has commercial applications. However, I believe those are still linked to Nokia Store for the purposes of payment.

pichlo 2015-01-13 14:40

Activation codes! ;)

Copernicus 2015-01-13 15:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by nokiabot (Post 1456403)
maybe there are better options but matters most is payment system ex opera store maybe board can try.