Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 152 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ CA
#11
WOW.....thank you! I also added:


Ricky Bent
Web address: http://rickybrent.com/maemo/debs
Distribution: chinook
Components: free non-free



for abiword...

the only unresolved issue (currently......) is Maemo-recorder keeps asking to be updated yet when I run it it will not update...however, it works so it has been a very low priority....
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to here.david For This Useful Post:
Posts: 566 | Thanked: 150 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#12
I haven't tried this with the tablets, only my Ubuntu notebook, but with dpkg you can make a list of installed packages manually and import it again in one go. I think application manager does something similar.

Backup (assuming /media/mmc1 is a memory card):

Code:
sudo gainroot
# backup repository list 
cp /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hildon-application-manager.list /media/mmc1/
# backup list of installed packages
dpkg --get-selections | grep "\binstall" > /media/mmc1/installed_packages.txt
Restore:

Code:
sudo gainroot
cp  /media/mmc1/hildon-application-manager.list  /etc/apt/sources.list.d/
apt-get update
dpkg --set-selections < /media/mmc1/installed_packages.txt
apt-get -u dselect-upgrade
edit:Correction..with Maemo the sources aren't stored in /etc/apt/sources.list, but
/etc/apt/sources.list.d/hildon-application-manager.list .

Last edited by iamthewalrus; 2008-07-11 at 21:19.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iamthewalrus For This Useful Post:
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#13
We have dpkg here; that looks like it should work.
 
Posts: 566 | Thanked: 150 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#14
I just did a fresh Diablo reflash with R&D mode of my N800, added all repositories in the 1st post of this thread + rickybrent to the default repositories in application manager and did:

Code:
sudo gainroot
apt-get update
and got:

Code:
Failed to fetch http://rickybrent.com/maemo/debs/dists/chinook/non-free/binary-armel/Packages.gz  301 Moved Permanently
W: GPG error: http://tuomas.kulve.fi chinook Release: The following signatures couldn't be verified because the public key is not available: NO_PUBKEY 94D0694709064463
W: Conflicting distribution: http://catalogue.tableteer.nokia.com diablo Release (expected diablo but got )
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

Last edited by iamthewalrus; 2008-07-11 at 21:07.
 
Posts: 4,030 | Thanked: 1,633 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ nd usa
#15
Originally Posted by iamthewalrus View Post
I just did a fresh Diablo reflash with R&D mode of my N800, added all repositories in the 1st post of this thread + rickybrent to the default repositories in application manager and did:

Code:
sudo gainroot
apt-get update
and got:

Code:
Failed to fetch http://rickybrent.com/maemo/debs/dists/chinook/non-free/binary-armel/Packages.gz  301 Moved Permanently
W: GPG error: http://tuomas.kulve.fi chinook Release: The following signatures couldn't be verified because the public key is not available: NO_PUBKEY 94D0694709064463
W: Conflicting distribution: http://catalogue.tableteer.nokia.com diablo Release (expected diablo but got )
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
Thanks for the info. I did not do an apt-get update. I typed the repos, and then I go to browse installable apps and pick and install each particular progs ONE BY ONE. I did try restore only the apps, just for fun to try it out, it did install most of the apps automatically, somewhat, I still had to press a key for each single apps, and the whole process took more than 30 min, not much faster than if I picked the program one by one and chose by myself. That is NOT the end of the stories. After restoration, only apps backup and restore, the tablet functioned very very very slow. For example, on gnumeric, you ususally click open file, it will open the file, but no, it gave a long pause, a blank screen for 1 min or more, it then loaded the file, so did the browser or other apps. Well, that was just a test. I then reflashed the whole thing and installed apps one by one, everything has been running very smooth ever since. I did not report this, as I did not understand it and felt like I am saying something really stupid.


bun

Last edited by bunanson; 2008-07-11 at 21:52.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#16
apt-get update just gets the new lists; it's the same as a "refresh catalog" or whatever in app manager.

That error's indicating that the URL given for the rickybrent repo is wrong; you'd get the same thing in the app manager.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:36.