Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 19 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Scotland
#1
QCurrency convertor, originally discussed here, has some files up for testing and feedback.

There is still not a deb available (on the todo list!), but as its a python script you can download extract and run.







The files are currently available from Google Code, but hopefully I will update soon with debs to the Garage project page.

Code:
Download (152KB) 
qcurrency_0.0.2_all.tar.gz
To use Qcurency, extract the downloaded file and then;

Code:
tar -zxvf qcurrency_0.0.2_all.tar.gz
cd qcurrency_0.0.2_all
chmod +x ./qcurrency.py
then run the program with;

Code:
./qcurrency
Required
--------
- Python 2.5
- Qt4 Core
- Qt4 Gui
- Python bindings for Qt4 Core components
- Python bindings for Qt4 Gui components

All feedback and suggestions welcome.

[Edit]
Discovered an issue when running on the Tablet, current settings will not be saved if closing with the 'X'. Using 'Quit' from the menu will ensure settings are saved, will fix this issue in the next update. This appears to be a bug in Qt on maemo

[Update]
Version 0.0.2 has been uploaded. Various changes but the main is the addition of Length and Weight/Mass conversions. A default currency data file is also included.

Last edited by fifth; 2009-04-19 at 20:45. Reason: New Version Release
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to fifth For This Useful Post:
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,253 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#2
ugh, qt. im not sure i have the storage space...
 
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 19 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Scotland
#3
Originally Posted by tso View Post
ugh, qt. im not sure i have the storage space...
Yeah I agree Qt is a relatively large download for a platform which doesn't have it as standard, but only if you don't use any other Qt applications. However, using the Qt for this project was more of a refresher course for me and it does open up a lot more applications for use on the Tablets.

Also, after reading the pdf presentation (page 5) on Maemo 5, I believe Qt 4.5 will be included - which will mean no additional downloads for users on Maemo 5. Including Qt was to be expected tbh as Nokia now owns Qt
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fifth For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#4
Originally Posted by fifth View Post
and it does open up a lot more applications for use on the Tablets.
With fremantle backports this will be even more so. Also, if you have not cloned to SD, here's the perfect reason

BTW, you don't need the WHOLE qt framework. For most applications (like this QCurrency Converter one), libqt4-gui is enough.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to attila77 For This Useful Post:
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,253 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#5
Originally Posted by attila77 View Post
With fremantle backports this will be even more so. Also, if you have not cloned to SD, here's the perfect reason
thanks, but ill wait for either mer being default or nokia officially supporting that solution. last thing i need is for the boot system to be killed by a ssu...

also, right now i cant really afford to dedicate a SD for that use...
 
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 19 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Scotland
#6
Originally Posted by tso View Post
thanks, but ill wait for either mer being default or nokia officially supporting that solution. last thing i need is for the boot system to be killed by a ssu...

also, right now i cant really afford to dedicate a SD for that use...
Well i suppose it depends just how much you have installed on the internal memory. I've not cloned to SD and have quite a few apps installed, including development libs;

Code:
Nokia-N810-43-7:~# df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mtdblock4            4.0M      2.2M      1.8M  55% /mnt/initfs
none                    512.0k     96.0k    416.0k  19% /mnt/initfs/tmp
/dev/mtdblock4          249.5M    216.0M     33.5M  87% /
none                    512.0k     96.0k    416.0k  19% /tmp
none                      1.0M     68.0k    956.0k   7% /dev
tmpfs                     1.0M         0      1.0M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/mmcblk0p1            1.9G    128.0M      1.7G   7% /media/mmc2
/dev/mmcblk1p1          196.9M      4.7M    192.2M   2% /media/mmc1
I might clone in future but space is not an issue for now. But ... if Qt is an issue for people then I may consider re-coding to Gtk.

Last edited by fifth; 2009-04-18 at 19:04.
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,253 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#7
guess ill give it a spin then.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tso For This Useful Post:
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 19 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Scotland
#8
Originally Posted by tso View Post
guess ill give it a spin then.
Thanks. I know its just a small app so sorry for giving you a hard time over Qt, just didn't want other people getting the impression from your posts that Qt is bad and could crash their system
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,253 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#9
hmm, got it running, and found that i cant alter the amount using onscreen keyboard (N800 owner).
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tso For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#10
Originally Posted by fifth View Post
I might clone in future but space is not an issue for now. But ... if Qt is an issue for people then I may consider re-coding to Gtk.
Heh, you're too kind After 2 weeks of PyQt I'm not going back. GTK feels so ... barebone after Qt
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:12.