Active Topics

Posts: 4,030 | Thanked: 1,633 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ nd usa
I know what/when/why/how to get around in maemo, so do you . I am pretty new to Nitdroid.

How to get files in and out of Nitdroid: ES File Explorer.
It allows move/rename/cut/paste/delete/launch files thru Local/LAN/FTP/Bluetooth.

I DO NOT know security. If you are concerned, you would have to do something else, before you expose your Nitdroid to the whole world

Initial running by default Local, allows file manipulation within Nitdroid.
To transfer file between winPC and Nitdroid
1) On winPC, set up a folder for sharing, e.g. MyNitdroidApps, right click on the folder and check properties>share
Find your PC LAN address, Start>Run>cmd>ipconfig will give you 192.168.1.xxx; install tightVNC on winPC, run VNC server.
2) On Nitdroid ESFile Explorer, Toggle right upper corner Local, opens up a menu for LAN/FTP/Bluetooth. Click LAN>menu>New>
filll in above LAN address as server, leave user/password empty (Or figure out how to do it and share with us, I have NOT learned it yet )
Now you should see your winPC on desktop, click on it, you would see MyNitdroidApps folder, now you can move files between your winPC and Nitdroid.

Of course, you can do it via maemo, linux box, or any nitpik you want to share, for the newbies like myself. This works fine.

Like to share some pearls of your fav Nitdroid apps? Come on down....

bun

Last edited by bunanson; 2010-09-17 at 02:21.

thanks man It was so helpful

in Maemo when I go to File Explorer I find Shered media and my pc but when i enter my pc I cant find any of my shered folder ??? why

Missing instructions, sorry about it. You have to install some VNC server to get it going. I am using tightVNC, just install it, then run the server, and on nitdroid, menu>new>LAN and put in the address. It will work. Post back if problem.

Sorry for the missing part.

bun