Posts: 609 | Thanked: 232 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ the end of my rope
(UPDATE: I think that if you follow qwerty12's instructions for rotating screen AFTER you follow this guide, this will undo bootmenu personalization. So if you want rotation--and why wouldn't you!--do that first. Then follow the directions included herein. But if you do install rotation after you follow this guide, you can fix everything by reinstalling Penguinbait's bootmenu, and then picking up from this guide at step 10 as root and from within directory /home/user/MyDocs/.documents/initfs_flasher)

Follow this guide and you will have a personalized startup boot menu that can increase your chances that a lost tablet makes its way back to you. Add to this an activated device lock, and your chances improve further still.

I am a linux noob and probably always will be. Because of my linux limitations, I reflashed my device and followed my instructions from scratch, to make sure they work. They do. Still, ONE WRONG MOVE--ESPECIALLY AT STEPS 6-8, AND YOU COULD DO SERIOUS DAMAGE. AS ALWAYS, ANYTHING YOU DO WITH THE INFORMATION FROM THIS FORUM IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. BE CAREFUL. That said, these instructions should work like a charm.

Many thanks go to Penguinbait for his bootmenu installer, Fanoush for the initfs flasher, and bunanson for his good cheer and helpful tips via private messages. When it comes to anything interesting or useful found in what follows, they deserve the thanks. I'm just the messanger.

OK, let's get started.

1. Install easyroot (if you don't already have a way to . Get it here (scroll down).

2. Install Penguinbait's bootmenu (if you don't already have one).

3. Reboot. (I'm not sure if this is necessary. If someone more knowledgable says it's not, I'll amend the guide.) Upon reboot you'll hear Penguinbait's favorite confirmation sound. If you don't like this, later you can remove it by:

Code:
root
rm -rf /root/.linus/linus.wav