Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Nov 2013
#1
Hi!

I have some basic programming experience on Python, VBA and Matlab.

I had idea to try my hand on Sailfish programming whit a simple date calculator (user inputs date and code adds x-dates to it, the result is displayed). I figured installing the SDK and VM; but now I'm having difficulties submerging to QT world. Is it C++ or own language? Is there any books or websites, besides the offical QT and Sailfish sites, that could point me to start?

I really appreciate all help!
 
Posts: 96 | Thanked: 125 times | Joined on Jul 2012 @ Turkey
#2
Similar case here. I have coded small programs for PC with c++ so far and have never used and needed a UI. Now I am having diffuculty understanding connections between ui and the code.
 
Posts: 51 | Thanked: 37 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Stockholm
#3
I think you will find Qt very easy to work with.

I have, myself, not yet started to develop anything for Sailfish but I have been using Qt/ QtCreator to develop various PC applications for a number of years.

Regarding Sailfish/Qt/Silica I think you should have look here for a start:
https://sailfishos.org/sailfish-sili...roduction.html
https://sailfishos.org/sailfish-silica/
https://sailfishos.org/sailfish-sili...ilica-all.html

//j
 
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ Finland
#4
Just download the sdk from sailfish.org. It has example programs and a good reference with it.
 
Posts: 385 | Thanked: 426 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Gothenburg, Sweden
#5
I'm wondering whether the silica components ONLY can be used from QML?
It seems to work to do a completely native application, even with QtWidgets (even though QtWidgets of course looks bad).
But being able to do completely native apps would also be nice.
Otherwise, a lot of bridging code needs to be added for all existing code I have between Native and QML.
 
trx's Avatar
Posts: 80 | Thanked: 237 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Serbia
#6
QtWidgets are obsolete and you should avoid them. You should use QML or implement your UI in code with Qt Quick in mind. Also, by using QML you will automaticaly use HW accelarated graphics engine.

trx.
 
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Nov 2013
#7
Bit more digging and I found PySide! Now I only need to fresh up my memories of Phyton.

http://qt-project.org/wiki/Category:...ndings::PySide
 
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Nov 2013
#8
Oh, I'm afraid I need little more help tackling the learning curve.I have zero UI experience -engineering way was to do it in command line.

I have found no way to link my python code to Sailfish qml. For example my python code has line:
Code:
def kysy_vuosi():
print "Hello year 1582."
How I can get it show on firstpage.gml?

Any help (and patience) is well appreciated.

Last edited by finfly; 2013-12-10 at 17:42.
 
Posts: 1,269 | Thanked: 3,961 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Brazil
#9
Look at here about Python on Sailfish :
https://lists.sailfishos.org/piperma...er/001593.html
__________________
Python, C/C++, Qt and CAS developer. For Maemo/MeeGo/Sailfish :
Integral, Derivative, Limit - calculating mathematical integrals, derivatives and limits. SymPy - Computer Algebra System.
MatPlotLib - 2D & 3D plots in Python. IPython - Python interactive shell.
-- My blog about mobile & scientific computing ---
Sailfish : Sony Xperia X, Gemini, Jolla, Jolla C, Jolla Tablet, Nexus 4. Nokia N9, N900, N810.
 
solbrit's Avatar
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#10
Say I have a page stack which from bottom to top goes "a.qml" -> "b.qml" -> "c.qml".

- pageStack.push(Qt.resolvedUrl("b.qml")) will get me from a to b
- pageStack.pop() will take me back from b to a

However nothing happens when I try giving pop a page argument, ie going from a to b, then from b to c, and then from c going DIRECTLY back to a with:

- pageStack.pop(Qt.resolvedUrl("a.qml"))

Why is this? How can I go directly back to the first page?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15.