Posts: 102 | Thanked: 248 times | Joined on Jul 2012 @ Eindhoven, Netherlands
Hello guys.

Although I have been visiting this forum regularly since the release of the N900, I never took the initiative to register. But now, I think the time has come to do it.

As the title says, I managed to snap one off Ebay (for quite a bit of money). I can't describe the moment I finally got my hands on it. What would I say, the excitement, exhilaration and elation I have not experienced in a long time. It's the same thrilling feeling that I had when I drove a car for the first time of my life. I must say it's really the best phone+micropc out there(together with N9).

Although I was a Fedora user for quite some time and wrote my own shell-scripts to disable/enable an embedded hybrid gpu and many other stuff, I have to say I am a novice Linux user. I absolutely don't have the administrative skills that an experienced Linux geek has. But I'm learning C and Python to create some GTK and Qt applications/widgets - "coding", which is a different extent than administration - and wish to contribute to the community in the near future.

I really need some clarification first as I do have plenty of questions to ask because I missed the developments of the MeeGo/harmattan platform. Forgive me if questions are being asked that can be found in the forums by searching.

1) Is it right that the N9/950 is more restricted software-wise unlike the N900 because of that 'Aegis security framework'?

2) What does this Aegis security framework actually do with applications, sign them so they can be run on Harmattan? What about shell-scripts or what about applications that are not created with Qt. Can they be signed?

3) Is there a popular community repository for applications outside of the Nokia Store ( except this repo: http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/)
Which one(s) would you recommend me?