Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 225 | Thanked: 68 times | Joined on Feb 2006
#161
all very smooth for me. Update icon flashed, installed from app manager, rebooted and works. browser seems a little quicker and now scrolls with 'd' pad, whereas before with the little 'd' pad deb it still only jumped down the page by hyperlinks. so, all good here!
 
free's Avatar
Posts: 739 | Thanked: 159 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Germany - Munich
#162
How to know if the new release is installed, as root:
osso-product-info
=>
OSSO_PRODUCT_HARDWARE='RX-34'
OSSO_PRODUCT_NAME='N800'
OSSO_PRODUCT_FULL_NAME='Nokia N800 Internet Tablet'
OSSO_PRODUCT_RELEASE_NAME='OS 2008'
OSSO_PRODUCT_RELEASE_FULL_NAME='Internet Tablet OS: maemo Linux based OS2008'
OSSO_PRODUCT_RELEASE_VERSION='4.2008.30-2'
OSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL='ETSI/EU'
OSSO_PRODUCT_KEYBOARD='<unknown>'
OSSO_PRODUCT_REGION='<unknown>'
OSSO_PRODUCT_SHORT_NAME='Nokia N800'
OSSO_VERSION='RX-34+RX-44+RX-48_DIABLO_4.2008.30-2_PR_MR0'


Remove/Comment chinook entries before upgrading. At least for me it solved some conflicts.

Another way of freeing space is having a look at the biggest installed packages:
Code:
dpkg-query -W -f='${Installed-Size} ${Package} ${Status}\n' | grep installed | sort -n
The size needed.. good question. From my earlier post:

Need to get 14,4MB of archives.
After unpacking 28,7kB disk space will be freed.
So you will need 14.4MB to download the .deb which will then be preinsted, unpacked, postinsted and then the old files not existing anymore will be removed. In the end, you gain 28.7Kb.

Probably a preinst script is puting the tablet in a non-working state, then it's unpacked and it fails if not enough size, which is normal. But then you are in a non-working state...
Could also be a postrm script from the older version which is called before the new preinst

I upgraded through ssh and got disconnected when icd2 restarted. I was a bit scared but ssh reconnected by itself a minute after.

Last edited by free; 2008-08-12 at 09:18.
 
Karel Jansens's Avatar
Posts: 3,220 | Thanked: 326 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ "Almost there!" (Monte Christo, Count of)
#163
Originally Posted by GeneralAntilles View Post
What software company does? Personally, I've been ****ed over by more Apple updates than I can remember, and I know plenty of Windows users suffer greatly with SP releases.

Heck, the much-lauded Ubuntu can't even manage a decent upgrade half the time.

Besides, it seems to be going pretty well considering that it's the first ever SSU update.
I had no out-of-space error, I don't boot from card and the only software on my system has been installed from the repositories.

Nevertheless, I now have a nit that has a b0rked upgrade stuck in its bowels, which it refuses to remove.

I don't use Apple, I don't upgrade Windows and Ubuntu has never stuck me in a rut like this.
__________________
Watch out Nokia, Pandora's box has opened (sorta)...
I do love explaining cryptic sigs, but for the impatient: http://www.openpandora.org/
 
Karel Jansens's Avatar
Posts: 3,220 | Thanked: 326 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ "Almost there!" (Monte Christo, Count of)
#164
Originally Posted by thaibill View Post
What's the fix for this? I experienced the same results as Howie_it.

TIA,

thaibill
Join the club. I'm sure Nokia's response will be a deafening silence, as <100% of users are experiencing this "feature".

Check the info box in Application Mangler to see what that piece of **** software thinks the problem is. Mine says it needs ttf-bitstream-vera, a package that is not installed and I cannot find an installable version of.

Do you want me to reserve you a Pandora in september?
__________________
Watch out Nokia, Pandora's box has opened (sorta)...
I do love explaining cryptic sigs, but for the impatient: http://www.openpandora.org/
 
free's Avatar
Posts: 739 | Thanked: 159 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Germany - Munich
#165
What should be the repository list now?

Trying to install perl, I'm a bit lost..

apt-get install perl
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
perl: Depends: perl-base (= 5.8.3-3osso7) but 5.8.3-3osso9 is to be installed
E: Broken packages

apt-cache policy perl perl-base
perl:
Installed: (none)
Candidate: 5.8.3-3osso7
Version table:
5.8.3-3osso7 0
500 http://repository.maemo.org chinook/free Packages
perl-base:
Installed: 5.8.3-3osso9
Candidate: 5.8.3-3osso9
Version table:
*** 5.8.3-3osso9 0
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
5.8.3-3osso7 0
500 http://repository.maemo.org chinook/free Packages
So the installed version of perl-base (which comes from?? no idea) is incompatible with the only version of perl that I'm able to find (from chinook).
Should I go back to chinook's perl.

This is a general question, which are the repositories to put in this bloody sources.list and which one especially to solve this problem?

I'm also looking for package python by the way. Not python2.5, python.

?
 
lilith's Avatar
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ France
#166
Originally Posted by thaibill View Post
What's the fix for this? I experienced the same results as Howie_it.

TIA,

thaibill
I also experienced something similar: due to lack of some important packages for the update (see my post before) update manager simply installed all the .debs without reflashing the tablet or rebooting. It did not prompt any error message on my screen, and for a few hours I was totally convinced of having updated. I could see the error messages in the configuration phase of osso-software-version only when I tried to manually run
Code:
apt-get install osso-software-version-unlocked
from the command line (apologies, I don't have a screenshot of the error message )

As I wrote previously, the missing packages could not be installed again using apt-get and so I ended up in reflashing the tablet and then successfully running the update.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#167
Originally Posted by free View Post
What should be the repository list now?

Trying to install perl, I'm a bit lost..



So the installed version of perl-base (which comes from?? no idea) is incompatible with the only version of perl that I'm able to find (from chinook).
Should I go back to chinook's perl.

This is a general question, which are the repositories to put in this bloody sources.list and which one especially to solve this problem?

I'm also looking for package python by the way. Not python2.5, python.

?
Sounds like you want to add the diablo sdk repo instead:...

Details:
Catalogue Name: Maemo Diablo
Web address: http://repository.maemo.org/
Distribution: diablo
Components: sdk/free tools/free sdk/non-free tools/non-free

Or (not tested), these lines in your sources.list[.d]:
deb http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo/sdk free non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo/sdk free
deb http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo/tools free non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo/tools free
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
Karel Jansens's Avatar
Posts: 3,220 | Thanked: 326 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ "Almost there!" (Monte Christo, Count of)
#168
Originally Posted by lilith View Post
I also experienced something similar: due to lack of some important packages for the update (see my post before) update manager simply installed all the .debs without reflashing the tablet or rebooting. It did not prompt any error message on my screen, and for a few hours I was totally convinced of having updated. I could see the error messages in the configuration phase of osso-software-version only when I tried to manually run
Code:
apt-get install osso-software-version-unlocked
from the command line (apologies, I don't have a screenshot of the error message )

As I wrote previously, the missing packages could not be installed again using apt-get and so I ended up in reflashing the tablet and then successfully running the update.
I'd rather be f*cked sideways up the yazoo by a raging rhino than reflash this f*cking brick yet again.

All this mess because Nokia's drones have the intellectual capacity of a stool sample?
__________________
Watch out Nokia, Pandora's box has opened (sorta)...
I do love explaining cryptic sigs, but for the impatient: http://www.openpandora.org/
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Karel Jansens For This Useful Post:
free's Avatar
Posts: 739 | Thanked: 159 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Germany - Munich
#169
Thanks a lot qwerty12!
I saw this sdk but was not sure that it's safe to use is on the device directly.

So, in case people are also looking for a repository list, here it is (included maemo community, not nokia-official):

deb http://catalogue.tableteer.nokia.com/certified/ diablo user
deb http://catalogue.tableteer.nokia.com/non-certified/ diablo user
deb http://catalogue.tableteer.nokia.com/updates/diablo-1/ ./
deb http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo sdk/free tools/free sdk/non-free tools/non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo/sdk free
deb http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo/tools free non-free
deb-src http://repository.maemo.org/ diablo/tools free
Use at your own risks

Last edited by free; 2008-08-16 at 10:29.
 
pycage's Avatar
Posts: 3,404 | Thanked: 4,474 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ Germany
#170
Originally Posted by Karel Jansens View Post
I'd rather be f*cked sideways up the yazoo by a raging rhino than reflash this f*cking brick yet again.
For this kind of stuff you should ask at your local zoo.

Originally Posted by Karel Jansens View Post
All this mess because Nokia's drones have the intellectual capacity of a stool sample?
Well, this is certainly significantly higher than the average intellectual capacity in this industry. This kind of SSU update is revolutionary for consumer electronics, and Nokia did not do it too badly, IMHO. It's hard to please everyone and of course the community could've implemented it better, but it's a good start.

Just try again, maybe it'll work. Oh yeah you'd have to reflash, but the rhino is waiting for you...

It would be interesting to see what percentage of users got trouble with the SSU update. A hand full is surely not anywhere near 100%.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pycage For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
browser, email, microb, modest, os2008, ssu, stability, update


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:43.