PDA

View Full Version : [Proposal pending] widgets to be used to "window" applications

tokag
2010-01-26, 03:44
i just had an idea, and that idea is: wouldn't it be nice to be able to run "windowed" application on my n900? like maybe 2 or 3 of them on the same desktop? and be able to drag and drop (simple things like files from folder to folder, or text from one note to another)? now I'm no programmer (but i have started to tool around with qt a bit), so i am sure i don't have the slightest grasp of the complexities involved...anyhow i though it was worth my time to share this idea of mine with you. is it feasible?

chemist
2010-01-26, 13:14
Please create a brainstorm item and read through my signature for further help.

Welcome to maemo.org ;)

Nice idea there... something like real X style multitasking (yes I am one of those who primary use X servers to have more than one term visible at once, for console there is multi-windowed "screen")

first use-case of this would be windowed status messages, this full-screen behavior is annoying...
drag and drop with a status bar to open up the other window would be fair enough, but haveing both on screen next to each other is for sure one option!

tokag
2010-01-26, 23:23
ah. i apologize for failing to read forum guidelines before posting. could my idea be better posted as: a possible way to better handle interactivity of multiple applications being run simultaneously.?

so anyway. i have this "extra" desktop and i really don't know what i want to put on it. all my other desktops are arranged to my liking, but i just can't think of what to do with this last one, so i leave it blank, which is lame. i would disable it, but i have this nice looping wallpaper (grand canyon desert scene) and i don't ruin the atmosphere. so, what to do?