Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 78 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Devon, UK
#11
Not wishing to be rude, but if you have to ask then it's probably not ready for you.
But if you're feeling brave download the file to memory card then from xterm:

cd /home/user
tar xzf /media/mmc/x11vnc_test.tgz
cd x11vnc_test
./x11vnc

Connect as {NOKIA_IP}:0
 
Posts: 98 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Feb 2006
#12
run it from a terminal, or make an icon....

copy the downloaded file to the 770
open X terminal or ssh in
install the files:
Code:
tar -zxf x11vnc_test.tgz
cp x11vnc_test/lib/* /var/lib/install/usr/lib/
cp x11vnc_test/bin/* /var/lib/install/usr/bin/
cp x11vnc_test/x11vnc /var/lib/install/usr/bin/x11vnc.sh
note the renaming of x11vnc to x11vnc.sh to prevent a conflict
you could also put the x11vnc_test/x11vnc somewhere else since the .desktop file has to have the full path to it anyway

edit /var/lib/install/usr/bin/x11vnc.sh with vi or jpico to be:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
x11vnc -cursor arrow -display :0
add whatever options you like
(note the export paths aren't needed because the GUI does this for you)

to make a menu item, create a file: /var/lib/install/etc/others-menu/extra_applications/X11VNC.desktop

make the contents:
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=X11 VNC Server
GenericName=VNC Server
Comment=Start VNC server
Exec=/var/lib/install/usr/bin/x11vnc.sh
Type=Application
you should now have an icon to start the server with. thre is no feedback, the only to know if it is running is to try to connect to it, or check "ps" from a terminal. Becarefull to not start it 2 times, the second won't go away and will use about 2k of memory until you kill it or reboot.

Last edited by chrwei; 2006-02-17 at 18:01.
 
Posts: 78 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Devon, UK
#13
Thanks for all that. I suppose if nobody finds a good reason for not using this particular vnc-server by Sunday I'll package it up for the installer. Perhaps I should add some logic to the script to either - not start a second server, or kill any old server when a new one is started.

Unless someone else wants to save me the trouble.

Michael
 
Posts: 98 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Feb 2006
#14
well, there's a viewer, why not a server?

now we just need a server helper to sit in the toolbar/try to set a password, killclient, etc
 
Hedgecore's Avatar
Posts: 1,361 | Thanked: 115 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ Toronto, Ontario, Canada
#15
Excellent work, I'd package that. (... and subsequently duck all the questions)

I'm only having one issue though; no cursor appears. The mouse cursor on my XP box disappears if it's over that window and the window has focus. There was a time for a split second that I got the regular tiny square VNC cursor, but that's about all the success I've had.
 
Posts: 78 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Devon, UK
#16
The "-cursor arrow" option works for me. With RealVNC as a client.
 
Hedgecore's Avatar
Posts: 1,361 | Thanked: 115 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ Toronto, Ontario, Canada
#17
Oddly enough, connecting this time I now have a black arrow. That didn't appear before. Maybe you're good luck Michael.
 
Posts: 78 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Devon, UK
#18
Guys, try the installer .deb at http://saunby.net/download/nokia770/x11vnc/ and let me know if it's good enough to release.

Michael
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Feb 2006
#19
I'm really impressed.
I still have to figure out why I can connect to the Nokia but not my co-worker and why it sometimes works and sometimes not - but the overall situation has improved greatly for me.
Thanx msaunby!
 
Posts: 78 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Devon, UK
#20
I've found that just having an active internet connection isn't quite enough for the Nokia to work as a server. If you can't ping it, then the VNC server won't work, but if you open a browser then both ping and VNC come to life.

I'm not going to spend any more time on this now unless I have to as I've other stuff I must do.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:05.