Let me start by saying that I'm new to Nokia/Maemo/Linux (save for my g/f's e71x), and have no programming experience whatsoever. Conky is the only insight I have to the 900's performance. But from what I can tell, and correct me if I'm wrong, but even with everything that I can turn off, being off:

- No widgets
- Cellular/WiFi radios off
- Calendar widget off
- All apps closed (except app load, but I don't think its a major contributor to the total)

...Conky still reports 186 process being active. My Motorola Q (had registry access and heavily modded) and Droid didn't have anywhere near this many active process. My XP Pro with all that I use it for, at most has ~60 processes running.

Is this a little high? Could this be the reason that battery is draining so quickly? If so, any way to dial that number down?

Last edited by colnago; 2010-01-08 at 18:45.

Posts: 158 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
It's not about how much processes you have, its how many of those arent sleeping.

Well.. just the basics of the GNU/Linux platform do spawn separate processes for most different parts.. plus then you have X windows, then the sound system, then any running monitors or services..

Linux typically has a higher number of processes running at a given time.. I don't think it would effect battery life too much unless one of those processes was constantly hitting the CPU...

Do you have your conky monitoring processor usage?
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!

Originally Posted by fatalsaint View Post
Well.. just the basics of the GNU/Linux platform do spawn separate processes for most different parts.. plus then you have X windows, then the sound system, then any running monitors or services..

Linux typically has a higher number of processes running at a given time.. I don't think it would effect battery life too much unless one of those processes was constantly hitting the CPU...

Do you have your conky monitoring processor usage?