Active Topics

I previously posted that the file structure of my Internal memory card (mmc2) fot messed up. The N800 has made it a read-only memory.

I would like to reformat it so I can use it again, I do not mind losing the data on it, which is backed up. But I cannot reformat with File Manager, it refuses to give me the option.

This is a 16GB card, and about 4GB is in use.

In the control panel, I had previously checked the option in "virtual memory" to use the internal card to extend vertual memory. The control panel refuses to let m uncheck this option, and perhaps that's why I'm not allowed to reformat.

I wonder if it might help to swap the two memory cards I have, so that the internal memory becomes the "removeable memory."

Can someone help? I found info about reformatting at another thread here. I'm a Linux Newbie, so I think that what I'm about to quote does not quite tell me exactly what commands to try. In any case, what will happen when I reformat over extended virtual memory that might be in use?

Here' the quote from the otehr thread:

Lowlevel formatting:
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...formatter.html

Thanks for the pointer!

I'll have to try that if all else fails.

I ended up doing a 'dd if=/dev/zero' to the card, followed by sfdisk and mkfs.vfat, and it seems to be working (but only in my Nokia device -- neither Windows nor Linux recognizes the media.

I'm just copying stuff onto it again -- the problem only occurred previously when I passed the 10 or 11 gig mark.

However, I'm guessing a low-level format would do even more?

Anyway, thanks again for the pointer! I'll have to try it if all else fails.

Please help!
Thanks,
- toby robison

Posts: 1,950 | Thanked: 1,174 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Seattle, USA
For the formatting, try this link instead. It's not a tip. It's a Windows program that formats the card at a low level.

Help Save This Forum