Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 49 | Thanked: 33 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Berlin/Germany
#1
Hi,

I just imported the contacts from my old Galaxy Nexus and didn't realize that it had exported every contact I have on Google and Google+.
I now have around 1500 contacts in the people app on my Jolla.. Damn.
Can anyone point me to the option to delete multiple contacts at once or even the whole list, to start over?
Thanks!
__________________
Jolla Order Status Spreadsheet
 
Posts: 1,067 | Thanked: 2,383 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#2
multiselect delete is coming at later updates.

In a meanwhile in developermode, you can either nuke the database or edit it (you need to devel-su as root).

sqlite3 /home/nemo/.local/share/system/privileged/Contacts/qtcontacts-sqlite/contacts.db

Or if you dont want to enable developer mode, you can do factory reset and start the whole config and install process from scratch.
__________________
IRC: jonni@freenode
Sailfish: ¤ Qt5 SailfishTouchExample ¤ Qt5 MultiPointTouchArea Example ¤ ipaddress ¤ stoken ¤ Sailbox (Dropbox client) ¤
Harmattan: ¤ Presence VNC for Harmattan ¤ Live-F1 ¤ BTinput-terminal ¤ BabyLock ¤ BabyLock Trial ¤ QML TextTV ¤
Disclaimer: all my posts in this forum are personal trolling and I never post in any official capacity on behalf of any company.
 

The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to rainisto For This Useful Post:
Posts: 49 | Thanked: 33 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Berlin/Germany
#3
Nuking the database helped. Thanks! That was the answer I was hoping for - I just couldn't find the darn file.
__________________
Jolla Order Status Spreadsheet
 
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2013
#4
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
multiselect delete is coming at later updates.

In a meanwhile in developermode, you can either nuke the database or edit it (you need to devel-su as root).

sqlite3 /home/nemo/.local/share/system/privileged/Contacts/qtcontacts-sqlite/contacts.db

Or if you dont want to enable developer mode, you can do factory reset and start the whole config and install process from scratch.


Sorry to piggy back on this conversation but i did also do that same by mistake which im ok with as its only my facebook contacts (manage to remove others by selecting not to sync accounts )

I was just wondering if there is a way to import vcf files in one go rather than my current method of:

settings - apps - people - import from file (1 of 120)

this then jumps to the people's application and i have to repeat the process.

thank you so much in advanced!


PS: i'm a little bit of a newby on this BUT! i am trying to learn so sorry if i asked something quite stupid.
 
qwazix's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 2,622 | Thanked: 5,447 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#5
cat'ing all vcf files together should work
__________________
Proud coding competition 2012 winner: ρcam
My other apps: speedcrunch N9 N900 Jolla –– contactlaunch –– timenow

Nemo UX blog: Grog
My website: qwazix.com
My job: oob
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwazix For This Useful Post:
mced's Avatar
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 185 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Spain
#6
Originally Posted by qwazix View Post
cat'ing all vcf files together should work
Not really. But I've found a workaround.

PROBLEM: I've got this "catted" VCF file with 84 contacts. Something like this one (numbers and sensible data are fake, of course):

Code:
BEGIN:VCARD
VERSION:2.1
UID:662
REV:2011-05-14T10:21:32Z
TEL;CELL;VOICE:123456789
N:;Alejandra;;;
EMAIL:fakeemail@gmail.com
END:VCARD
BEGIN:VCARD
VERSION:2.1
UID:620
REV:2011-01-21T16:18:53Z
TEL;CELL;VOICE:123456789
N:;Ana;;;
END:VCARD
BEGIN:VCARD
VERSION:2.1
UID:603
REV:2011-01-22T14:27:53Z
TEL;CELL;VOICE:123456789
N:;Antonio;;;
END:VCARD
And so on...
--Transfer VCF file to Home directory.
--Settings - Apps - People does detect it. Tap on "Import from file".
--Just one contact imported: the first one, "Alejandra".
--Try again. Same result.i

WORKAROUND:

--Open terminal.
--Edit VCF file (vi, nano...). Erase first contact's lines (from BEGIN:VCARD to END:VCARD, inclusive). In my example, "Alejandra" now is gone and first contact is "Ana".
--Return to Settings - Apps - People. Tap on "Import from file".
--Remaining contacts should be imported.

Last edited by mced; 2013-12-29 at 14:38.
 
Posts: 301 | Thanked: 531 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ The Netherlands
#7
In another thread this VCF subject has been discussed. Look for the post of Kabouik #208 on this page:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=91886&page=21
 

The Following User Says Thank You to rob_kouw For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2013
#8
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
In a meanwhile in developermode, you can either nuke the database or edit it (you need to devel-su as root).

sqlite3 /home/nemo/.local/share/system/privileged/Contacts/qtcontacts-sqlite/contacts.db
If you intend to try this, please do the following as the nemo user first:
Code:
systemctl --user stop msyncd.service
systemctl --user stop contactsd.service
systemctl --user stop voicecall-ui-prestart.service
Otherwise, these processes might make concurrent DB modifications that could lead to DB corruption.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MattVogt For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2013
#9
Originally Posted by mced View Post
PROBLEM: I've got this "catted" VCF file with 84 contacts. Something like this one (numbers and sensible data are fake, of course):

Code:
BEGIN:VCARD
VERSION:2.1
UID:662
REV:2011-05-14T10:21:32Z
TEL;CELL;VOICE:123456789
N:;Alejandra;;;
EMAIL:fakeemail@gmail.com
END:VCARD
BEGIN:VCARD
VERSION:2.1
UID:620
REV:2011-01-21T16:18:53Z
TEL;CELL;VOICE:123456789
N:;Ana;;;
END:VCARD
BEGIN:VCARD
VERSION:2.1
UID:603
REV:2011-01-22T14:27:53Z
TEL;CELL;VOICE:123456789
N:;Antonio;;;
END:VCARD
And so on...
--Transfer VCF file to Home directory.
--Settings - Apps - People does detect it. Tap on "Import from file".
--Just one contact imported: the first one, "Alejandra".
--Try again. Same result.
This problem frequently occurs with VCF files catted together, where one or more of the original files does not have a trailing line-break. The composite file ends up with compound lines containing 'END:VCARDBEGIN:VCARD', which are invalid, and do not correctly delimit contact records. The surrounding records are then rendered invalid, usually by being detected as having more than one field which should be singular, such as 'N' structured name fields.

Chris Adams has recently merged a change to the qtpim module to workaround this problem, but it will takes a while to filter through to a Sailfish release.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MattVogt For This Useful Post:
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#10
I don't know whether someone finds it useful, but how I imported contacts from my N9, was just to create a folder Contacts in /home/nemo/ and a) exported N9 to file, b) copied the vcards from /home/user/MyDocs/Contacts where N9 saved them over to the /home/nemo/Contacts, rebooted and every contact was updated automatically. I then factory reset the phone updated again to newest OTA, tried it again and it just works - easiest method so far AFAIK. (NOTE: this was before adding any sync-able account)

Last edited by jabis; 2014-03-02 at 18:21. Reason: Typos
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:56.